How to find a marathon coach among jocks? Why aren’t runners treated according to their clothes? How to go from «one of the first» to «at least not the last»? And is it really worth dying for the second last place?

After I’ve made my decision to become an Ironman and bought my first pair of sneakers, I began running. On a treadmill. Let me tell you it’s the worst. Shaking in a hot, deoxygenated room, staring at a TV-set and changing the load with a remote – what can be more boring?

But I hadn’t had a coach then, so there was no one who would teach me how to run. In 2012 only professional olympians and a bunch of gym teachers were running in Moldova, who pursued the goal to have a healthy heart and vessels. Some of them didn’t want to teach me, the others didn’t even know how to run.

Well,I was seeking for a real coach, who will help me run a marathon. I kept bending managers’ ears, but the only coach they could recommend to me was a sprinter who haven’t ever run more than 1,5 km. Talking about running, one manager suddenly remembered a guy from gym who sort of ran some long distances.

Among the other jocks, this guy looked totally different: skinny, thin legs, with no biceps or chest, he looked very strange while showing some fat guy how to do a barbell squat.

– Liviu, – he introduced himself. – Winner of Moldova 1,5 km Сhampionship.
“Well, a little better…” – I thought to myself. – But can you teach me how to run a marathon?
– Well, I’ve only run a half marathon in my life… I can do it!
After two weeks Liviu left the gym and we began to prepare for marathons.

That’s how began the friendship and workouts with Liviu Croitoru, the man who taught me how to run and with whom I ran thousands of kilometers, shoulder to shoulder, with whom we’ve participated in the terrible OtillO, the tough Malaga and many other races, who began working for Sporter and teaching morons like me how to run and don’t break their legs.

And… one thing lead to another, we began running in parks, on streets, in stadiums. First achievements and disappointments. Two months later I already considered myself a pro runner, who knows everything about sneakers, sport food, GPS-watches, workout plans, road pavement and special marathon techniques of tying shoelaces. I’ve already started looking down on my not-running friends, patting them on the shoulder like a father.

– It’s alright, one day you’ll be able to run 10 km, too…

And today Liviu cheered me up, telling that soon I will have my first competition:

– Every year in September the power structures of Moldova do some “dick-measuring”, to prove whose guys are the hottest. Two circles around Valea Morilor lake, only 5 km, enough for you to handle it. It’s time for you to feel the taste of a race. But look, don’t fail me (Liviu worked as a carabiner, everyone there knew him). Don’t come last. After all, I’m you coach and don’t want to turn red because of you.

– You gotta be kidding me – I smirked, – maybe I won’t be the first, but I will be in the middle.

So did the day of my first race come – September 28, 2012. I didn’t know what to expect, but I was absolutely calm and 100% ready. Now, after 50 competitions, I can say that I will never have this arrogant, hundred-percent self-confidence anymore.

Before the start I was wandering around in my fancy Asics, Adidas running sportswear and GPS watches.
I’ve got some weird looks from the soldiers, who were wearing kirza boots, wife-beater shirts and three-striped sweatpants. You could say who’s a runner and who’s not only by looking at me. I’ve done some fancy stretching exercises and went to align at the start.

And there it is – the gunshot! Let’s run! And, of course, I dashed ahead to the front lines with the leaders. I didn’t understand the consequences then, so I was proud of myself.

My happiness lasted 3 minutes, and after that my heartbeat jumped to 180 b/min, I ran out of air, and my field of view narrowed to the width of the runner who was running in front. And their asses are tight, legs long, and running pace, as it turns out, really fast.

After five minutes my plan changed from “one of the first” to “middle is good, too”. My pulse was instantly growing, and my speed kept falling just like my optimism. After the first circle the plan changed to “at least not the last”. But after a couple more minutes it seemed unachievable, as I realised I was the last, and even the most feeble soldier moved away from me, slowly but steadily. I felt sad.

You know, it’s hard to think when your pulse is up to 190. Maybe Liviu figured that out, and suddenly ran up to me.

– Get yourself together, we’re gonna outrun that one, – sounded optimistically in my right ear.

– I c-caa…n’t ru…un f-fastee…er. I’m gon…na di…e.
– Calm down. It’s hard for him, too. I know that guy, he’s gonna give up soon.

There was no relief, because I understood I’ve already given up and the only thing I want is to fall into a ditch and die. But my coach, damn it, is running near me, expecting some miracle to happen and save his reputation. So I decide not to fall down and struggle till the end. I see nothing but dark, my chest is tearing into pieces, heartbeat jumped over 195, I grunt instead of breathing, but I keep running. Step by step, meter by meter.
And suddenly I see that the soldier is actually coming closer. Seems like things get messy for him, too. It gives me forces, and I even try to accelerate.
1,5 km left before the finish, 50 meters separate me from the second last place, I don’t hear Liviu anymore – he’s yelling something into my ear, my pulse jumps to 200! I will never ever have my pulse this high anymore, but I didn’t know it then.

All I can see is the figure of a carabiner, slowly approaching me, and I must overrun him. No matter what. But the finish live is approaching even faster. 20 meters… 10…

My animal instincts turned on, I’ve started feeling myself like a lion who has to catch a roe deer. And finally, 100 meters before the finish line, I overrun that poor man and place myself on the second last place!

Finish line! I’m not the last!

I run 10 more meters and fall on the grass. My body’s shaking, my heart is about to jump off my chest, my mouth’s as dry as a desert… Water… Coach…
Liviu acts like this agonizing body that’s lying in the bushes has nothing to do with him. I try to show him that I really need some water. He sighs, grabs a bottle and “accidentally” drops it near me. I drink greedily, while he congratulates the winners, acting like nothing of this actually happened.

After 15 minutes I crawl out from the bushes, stand up on my trembling legs and limp towards Liviu. He looks around, makes sure no one is watching, and shakes my hand:

– Well done, Sergheich, you’ve got some sporting spirit, and that’s what matters!
– Can I take a break for a week?
– Yeap, but your workout’s tomorrow :)

My first competition turned to be the shortest and the toughest in my entire sports career, but it revealed the real world of sports to me – with overcomings, suffering, struggle (sometimes even for the second last place), and the joy of victory. Victories over yourself, over your “I can’t”, “I don’t want to” and “I better die”.

PS: And here is the track  —  http://www.movescount.com/moves/move7795064

Как отыскать тренера-марафонца среди качков, почему бегунов встречают не по одежке, как стать из «одним из первых» в «главное — не последним» и стоит ли умереть за предпоследнее место?

После решения стать железным человеком и покупки первой пары кроссовок, я начал бегать. На дорожке в фитнес клубе. Скажу вам — жутчайшее занятие. Трястись в жарком, обеcкислороженном помещении, втыкая в телевизор и меняя нагрузку кнопками на пульте — что может быть тоскливее?

Но тогда у меня не было тренера и научить меня бегу было некому. В Молдове 2012 года бегали только профессионалы-олимпийцы и горстка физкультурников, целью которых было здоровое сердце и сосуды. Одни не хотели тебя обучать, другие сами не знали, как бегать.

Но мне нужен был тренер, который поможет мне пробежать марафон. Я прожужжал в клубе уши всем менеджерам, но максимум, что мне предложили — бегуна спринтера, который больше 1.5 км никогда не пробегал. Болтая о беге, он вдруг вспомнил, что один из тренеров в качалке вроде бегал длинные дистанции.

Этот парень явно выделялся среди качков в тренажерном зале — худющий, на тонких ногах, без банок и сисек, он смотрелся странно, показывая какому-то жиробасу толчок штанги от груди.

— Ливиу, — представился он. — Чемпион Молдовы на 1.5 км.
“Чуть получше…“ — подумал я. — А марафон научишь бегать?
— Ну блин, я сам максимум полумарафон пробегал… Смогу!
Через две недели Ливиу ушел из клуба и мы начали готовиться к марафону.

Вот так началась наша дружба и тренировки с Ливиу Кроитору, человеком, который научил меня бегать и пробежал со мной плечом к плечу тысячи километров, с которым мы прошли жуткий OtillO, тяжелую Малагу и много других гонок, который стал работать в Sporter и учить балбесов, вроде меня, бегать, не ломая ноги.

И понеслось… Стадион, парки, шоссе, первые достижения и разочарования. Два месяца спустя я считал себя продвинутым бегуном, который разбирается в кроссовках, питании, часах с gps, тренировочных планах, покрытиях дороги и в науке завязывания шнурков специальным марафонским методом. Я уже немного свысока посматривал на своих не бегающих друзей, по-отцовски похлопывая их по плечу.

— Ну ничего, ничего, когда нибудь и ты сможешь пробежать 10 км…

И вот сегодня Ливиу обрадовал меня, что скоро у меня первое соревнование:

— Каждый год в сентябре силовые структуры Молдовы “меряются письками ” — у кого самые горячие ребята. Два круга на Комсомольском озере — всего 5 км, как раз тебе по зубам, пора попробовать вкус гонки. — Но смотри, не подведи меня (Ливиу работал карабинером и его там хорошо знали) Не прибеги последним, ведь я твой тренер и краснеть не хочу.

— Обижаешь — ухмыльнулся я, — первым не первым, но в серединке буду точно.

И вот наступил день мой первой гонки — 28 сентября 2012. Не зная, что меня ожидает, я был абсолютно спокоен и на 100% готов. Сейчас, спустя 50 соревнований, могу сказать, что такой наглой, стопроцентной уверенности у меня не будет больше никогда.

Перед стартом я дефилировал в модных кроссовках асикс, адидасовской беговой форме и часами с gps.
На меня с недоумением смотрели солдатики в кирзе, отцовских майках-алкоголичках и штанах с тремя полосками. По мне было сразу видно, кто бегун, а кто нет. Я сделал несколько модных упражнений на растяжку и пошел строиться на старт.

И вот стартовый выстрел — и мы помчались! Я, конечно, выбежал в первый ряд и ломанулся с лидерами. Тогда я еще не понимал, чем это чревато, поэтому был горд собой.

Радовался я минуты три, после чего мой пульс поднялся до 180 уд/мин, воздух кончился, а поле зрения сузилось до ширины задницы впереди бегущего. А задницы у них узкие, ноги длинные, а бег, как оказалось, быстрый.

Спустя пять минут я поменял план с “один из первых” на “в середине тоже неплохо”. Пульс рос, а скорость падала вместе с оптимизмом. После первого круга план поменялся на “главное — не последним”. Но еще через пару минут он стал казаться мне недостижимым, когда я понял, что бегу последним, а самый дохлый солдатик медленно, но верно отдаляется от меня. Я загрустил.

Знаете, соображать при пульсе 190 очень трудно.Наверное это понял Ливиу, неожиданно подбежавший ко мне на алее.

— Соберись, сейчас мы этого задохлика обгоним, — оптимистично прозвучало в правом ухе.

— Я н-нее.. м … могу бе… жжать … б-бы стрре…. ее . Я щас с…ззд…о-о..хну.
— Спокойно. Ему тоже тяжело, я его знаю, он скоро сдуется.

Облегчения это не принесло, потому что я понимал, что уже сам сдулся и единственное, чего мне хочется — это упасть в канаву и умереть. Но тренер, сцука, бежит рядом и надеется на чудо, которое поможет ему спасти свой авторитет. Поэтому решаю не падать, а терпеть до конца. В глазах уже темно, грудь разрывается на куски, пульс 195, вместо дыхания — хрип, но я бегу — шаг за шагом, метр за метром.
И вот чудо — солдатик и вправду начинает приближаться. Видать, ему тоже не сладко. Это дает силы, и я даже пытаюсь ускориться.
До финиша 1.5 км, до предпоследнего места — метров 50, я уже не слышу Ливиу, который что-то кричит в ухо, пульс зашкаливает — 200! Такого пульса у меня больше никогда не будет, но тогда я этого не знал.

Я вижу только медленно приближающуюся фигуру карабинера, которую должен обогнать. Во что бы то ни стало. Но финиш приближается еще быстрее. Вот до него 20 метров, вот 10.

У меня включаются животные инстинкты и я чувствую себя львом, которому нужно поймать косулю. И вот за 100 метров до финиша я обгоняю несчастного и перехожу на предпоследнее место!

Финиш! Я не последний!

Отбежав от финиша метров десять, я с размаху падаю в траву, меня трухает, сердце выпрыгивает, рот пересох… Воды… Тренееер…
Ливиу делает вид, что это валяющееся в кустах, агонизирующее тельце не имеет к нему отношения. Я показываю ему знаками, что без воды долго не протяну и он со вздохом берет бутылочку, и, проходя мимо меня, “нечаянно” роняет ее. Я жадно пью, а он, как ни в чем не бывало, поздравляет победителей.

Спустя 15 минут я выползаю из кустов, встаю на дрожащие ноги и шкандыбаю к Ливиу. Оглядевшись и убедившись, что никто не видит, он пожимает мне руку:

— Молодец, Сергеич, спортивный характер у тебя есть — а это главное!
— А можно я неделю не буду бегать?
— Да, но завтра тренировка :)

Мое первое соревнование оказалось одним из самых коротких и одновременно тяжелых в моей спортивной карьере, но оно открыло мне настоящий мир спорта — с преодолением, страданиями, борьбой, (иногда даже за предпоследнее место), и радостью побед. Побед над собой, над своими “не могу”“не хочу” ” и “лучше сдохнуть”.

ПС: А вот и трек —  http://www.movescount.com/moves/move7795064