What kind of rubber is used by arthropods? Why isn't there a prize for a fast heart rate? Are there any lobsters made of plasticine? Why can't you dive with your grandfather's tires and what is nudism in Finnish style?

Lobster

Last year I had a chance to participate in the Freediving World Championship in Belgrade. While I was blowing bubbles, trying to establish Moldovan records, I kept thinking: why do world champions dive with a bike tire around their neck?

Any freediver will say that for a neck weight there is nothing better than a bike tire filled with lead shot. And those who don’t practice freediving may ask: why on earth do freedivers use a neck weight? And here’s the answer.

Freedivers need a collar in the pool in order not to return to the surface because of the air in their lungs. This is necessary so that they wouldn’t waste their energy on doing constant dives, but could move forward underwater.

Ideally, the freediver must hang in the water column, without swimming up or down. For his purpose, the collar is calibrated by adding up to 100 grams of lead. Coming to the conclusion that a modern freediver shouldn’t dive in an old-fashioned way using his grandfather’s tires, I decided to develop a new, comfortable, beautiful and most importantly – functional collar for diving. With this in mind, I returned home and went to the know-how department of our Simpals Garage. I told guys about my idea of a new, hydrodynamic, adjustable freediving collar, and they got down to work.
At first we created sketches.

The main features of our professional freediving collar include adjustable weight and ergonomics. This means that it should be hydrodynamic, comfortable, and the adjustable weight should be evenly distributed over the athlete’s lungs- not only on the neck, because it is full lungs that lift the man to the surface.

And here’s the final concept – an ergonomic “horseshoe” that lies on the shoulders and a “tail” with adjustable length that goes along the spine.

Soooo, the next stage is the creation of a plasticine prototype:

What we do next: study heavy metals, their additives and casting technologies, make a plaster mold, pour the metal and let it cool. Now we have a painted lead ingot and weights with magnets that don’t hold….So we keep searching.

We try to find a way to connect the weights on the backside so they do not fall apart.

And again plasticine, plaster, casting, painting:

And another failure. The weights don’t hold together from behind and we have to change the fixing system. We start searching again. And here is the solution we have found:

A system of weights that allows you to choose any weight between 2.5 and 4.5 kg.

So, after two months of experiments plaster covered the whole third floor of our office, but we managed to create the fifth version of the mount, which turned out to be successful.

However, it’s not pleasant to put a cold, hard ingot on your naked body, so we decided to cover it with rubber. For this purpose, we purchased several types of PlastiDip. The result was not satisfactory, spray rubber was not durable and elastic and quickly cracked.

After that we began to experiment with different types of rubber. We learned about the Shore hardness, brittleness and toughness of rubber. We came across the fact that air bubbles didn’t get out of some models, so we bought a vacuum chamber. And in order to get the desired color, we had to pour another bucket of rubber per 100 kg of lead. As a result, we had a prototype that we could use for diving…

And then there were lots of tests. Everything went perfectly well- the collar fit snugly around the neck and didn’t fall off while turning, the tail didn’t fall apart during transportation and allowed to raise the arms above the head. But there was one problem – it pressed painfully on the collarbone.

After brainstorming, we decided to insert silicone pads under the rubber at the point where it contacted the collarbone.

After making three molds with different types of silicone we obtained optimal stiffness, and our lobster turned from a comfortable tool into an amazingly comfortable one! When we saw it, we understood how it would be called:

Please welcome the Lobster!

And the black Lobster:

The collar was developed by the following monsters: Serghey Logvinenko, Andrey Trifautsan, Iuri Melnik, Andrey Bastrika, Grigory Kostyukov, Evgheny Boyko.

The product is ready. Now it’s time for marketing. In other words, it’s time to promote and sell. While we are making the website lobsterweight.com, I’m getting ready for the World Championship.

Preparation

Unfortunately, I didn’t have a long preparation phase for the championship. On May 29, I ran the Comrades Ultramarathon in South Africa, then I was sick for 2 weeks. There were only 2 weeks left before the official top, when I had my first training in the pool. My only hope was that 2,000 km that I had run since last year’s championship made a positive influence on my heart and capillary network. But my resting heart rate was still high: 63-67. Before the ultramarathon and my illness it was about 55.

It is wrong to combine Ironman and ultramarathon with freediving as completely opposite systems are involved during these activities. Your metabolism should be different, your diet, training program, and many other things. So you should never do it!

But I’ll try it. Of course, I will not be able to set a world record, but I think I’ll manage to increase my personal best to six and a half minutes. So, I spend the whole two weeks (instead of the whole year) training, meditating, holding my breath in the morning, diving and eating properly. My family accompanies me to the airport. My son Misha gives me a note with his wishes:

Daddy, eat buckwheat. You taught me to ride a bike. You must win!

After crying sweet tears of joy and putting on our shoulders 20 kilograms of rubberized lead with Lobster logo, Serghey Legheyda (my coach) and I set off to Finland.

Turku

We arrived in Turku right during the opening ceremony. Down from a mall, straight to the ball. It was nice to see so many familiar faces!

We met the national team of Russia, Ukraine, Sasha Pangaev, Denis Rilov- a judge from Odessa, who judged at competitions in Moldova together with Olyona Muha, and of course the legends of freediving- Mateusz Malina, Goran Čolak, Alexander Kostyshen, Giorgos Panagiotakis, Sasha Bubenchikov, Alexey Molchanov, Aleix Segura and many other monsters.

Then a briefing was held to remind us of the basic rules.

We gave each other hugs, made some photos and went sightseeing. Turku is a small town with a river crossing its center and a couple of restaurant ships. People say that there is also an old castle to see, but we decided to leave it to the historians.

The next day, the organizers allowed us to set up a makeshift Lobster stand near the registration area. It looked like a seafood shop. Serghey only needed an apron, rubber gloves and a big knife to start catching arthropods.

Instead of this, he handed out leaflets, telling people about our super easy to use, stylish and unique collar and helping them to try it on. Freedivers were more excited than polar explorers who were given fresh cherries. Girls grabbed the red lobster and posed in front of the camera, but tough guys put on the black one and asked us difficult questions.

The presentation was a success – everyone liked the Lobster, although there some comments. BUT we came here to receive feedback, so thank you!

After all, what better place to test a freediving device than at the World Freediving Championship? It is the target audience that you will not be able to find anywhere else.

STA

It’s so nice to sleep in Finland! We were sleeping soundly the whole night through like two ferrets without paying attention to the sun pouring into the room. Yes, it was a polar day when the sun

is shining all day and all night long.
Early in the morning, I crawled out of bed, yawned loudly, slowly stretched my body for ten minutes, spent half an hour sitting in the hero pose, inhaling, holding and exhaling pure Finnish air and then crawled back under the blanket. I checked the pulse-… … …65…Well, it’s still fast which means that I haven’t completely recovered from my disease and the competition is going to be tough.

Serghey collected all our Lobsters and we trudged to the pool (we are not marathon runners to walk briskly to the race). My start time was 10:30 am, so at 9:30 I had to be in front of the judges. If I am late, I will be disqualified. In the shower I pulled on a warm, 5 mm wetsuit, neoprene socks and a cap. Then I checked in and sat on the edge of the pool waiting for the warm-up.

Half an hour before the start Serghey pushed me roughly into the pool and we started the warm-up session. 2:30, rest, 3:30, rest, 4:30.

5 minutes before the start my safety diver (I mean Serghey) pulled me to the starting area, where I was lying on my back thinking about….nothing and just breathing deeply, waiting for the countdown.

5,4,3,2,1, official top – I fill my lungs with air and lie face down in the water.

The first 3 minutes are quite easy. My head is empty and I feel so good that I could lie like that for an hour or two. But my body is against it, and at the 4 minute point I start feeling contractions, which means that I can lie for 2-2.5 minutes.

I am struggling and counting contractions. Usually I am able to stand 110-120 contractions. Five minutes and 50 contractions are behind, I can stand 70-80 more. I am trying to resist.

Six minutes and one hundred contractions – I open my eyes. I feel really bad, but there is a good thing- at the end of the breath hold time flies with triple speed. Maybe, it happens due to the fact that our brain wants to stop this torture as soon as possible and turns on the turbo mode. 

Either finish it or hurry up and die!

– Brain

In an instant I hear Serghey say “6:10!”. I reach the side of the pool and put my legs down. I want to stop this torture right now, but I can’t give up.

The air begins to spontaneously come out of the lungs, which is a bad sign, I need to finish. Serghey signals every 5 seconds. I am waiting for 6:30 and raise my head from the water. Incomplete exhale, inhale, exhale, inhale. Fully conscious, I finish my surface protocol and say: “I am OK!”

6:30. White Card! National record! I did it! Last year I did a 6:02 breath hold. Half a minute per year is not a fast progress, but constant dropping wears away a stone.

DNF

On the same day we have a swimming training underwater without fins — Do Not Fins. But we don’t forget our second mission- the Lobster. We put it on the edge of the pool, and here it began- Wow, what’s that? Can I try it? How much does it weigh? What’s the price? How can I order it?

But we came not to sell, but to test the device, so everyone who wanted to try it put on the collar, adjusted the weight and dived. And we were watching them with satisfaction. We were happy to see that our efforts, time and money weren’t spent in vain and the product turned out to be really cool.

But of course, there were some flaws. We are going to change and fix some of its features, so despite the fact that some freedivers wanted to buy a Lobster right there, we asked to give us one month to make it perfect.

In one of those moments when I was helping Anette Rafen Ottzen from Denmark to change weights, I squatted down low and suddenly heard a cracking sound. I felt cold below my waist and understood why Serghey was laughing. My super duper wetsuit for setting records didn’t last long and came apart.

Well, it’s not funny to walk with such a smiley face on the ass- everyone wants to make fun of you:

– Hey, you should exhale through your mouth!
– This way you can lose not only the air, but also your honor!
– You came to the wrong studio, we are not shooting porn videos here!
– Have you found a new way to speed up?
– Is it a hydro-gas accelerator?
– Don’t worry, you got your second wind:)

This is good freediving humor that doesn’t offend anyone.

But all joking aside, I don’t have a wetsuit to dive tomorrow. No wetsuit- no competition. And taking into account my fast heart rate, tomorrow I don’t have any chances. But we need to show the Lobster in practice, so I decide to swim at least 75 meters wearing my black trunks underneath the wetsuit- seem not to be visible.

Before that, I am trying a new kind of warm-up —I am doing statics before the dynamics without entering the pool in order not to cool down. Is it complicated? Yes. Does it help? No. At least not in my case.

I put on the Lobster, official top, I dive, swim 75 meters, come out and complete the surface protocol.

But I am not the only one who dives with the Moldovan collar. Tomomi Suga Hamazaki, the best Japanese freediver, also used it during the competition, set a new Japanese national record and was very pleased with the result:

I feel my body is stable, not go up or down. Supporting back is more comfortable than supporting neck. In addition, neck is not pressed compare with normal neck weight, so I do not feel tighten neck. And, shape is quite cute!! I have made 160m PB and NR today DNF!! Thank you so much!!

To celebrate our success, we went to eat smoked sausage which Serghey brought from Chisinau and drink local kvass, which was very tasty by the way. Now we can eat and drink all the bad stuff. Finally!

After collecting comments on the collar from the best freedivers, we decided to give two Lobsters to the participants and two Lobsters to the organizers (thank you, Mikki), so that they awarded the prizes to the winners at their discretion.

We didn’t stay for the finals, which was a mistake as we missed two records: World Record DNF Mateusz Malina 244m, World Record DNF Magdalena Solich 185m.

Helsinki

The next day, we left 20 kg of luggage and went to see Helsinki. After wandering around the city, we came to the conclusion that it could definitely enter the top ten most boring, depressive and expensive cities in the world.

Nevertheless, we managed to see some interesting things:

And finally I found my favorite treat- a Nutella sandwich! Mmmmm…Now I’m completely happy :)

How can we leave Finland without relaxing in the Finnish sauna? We found the only public sauna in Helsinki that was heated with wood- Kotiharjun sauna.

As for me, I like public saunas—they give you a sense of unity: people get acquainted with each other, talk, criticize politicians, praise beer and gossip about football and women. Everyone is equal here and it doesn’t matter who you are- a politician, a football player or a woman.
Technically, the Finnish sauna doesn’t differ fundamentally from the Russian bathhouse. Finns don’t wear sauna hats and go naked without sheets or towels.

The main feature of this particular sauna is that people sit naked on the street shocking tourists, which is not what Finns normally do. So why not to smoke a pipe on such a special occasion?

Какую резину предпочитают членистоногие, почему за стахановский пульс не дают премию, бывают ли лобстеры из пластелина, почему не надо нырять с дедушкиными шинами и что значит нудизм по-фински?

Лобстер

В прошлом году меня занесло на чемпионат мира по фридайвингу в Белград. И все время, пока я пускал пузыри, пытаясь установить рекорды Молдовы, меня не покидала мысль: а почему чемпионы мира ныряют с велосипедной шиной на шее?

Любой фридайвер мне ответит на это, что для груза пока никто, ничего, лучше вело-шины со свинцовой дробью не придумал.

А кто не фридайвер , тот спросит: а зачем вообще фридайверу груз? Отвечаю.
Ошейник фридайверу необходим в бассейне для того, чтобы спортсмен не всплывал из-за воздуха, находящегося в легких, а оставался в толще воды. Это необходимо для того, чтобы не тратить усилия на постоянные заныривания, а плыть только вперед под водой.

В идеале фридайвер должен висеть в толще воды, не опускаясь и не всплывая. Для этого ошейник калибруют, досыпая свинцовую дробь с точностью до 100 грамм.

Поразмыслив, что не пристало нашему фридайверскому брату нырять по старинке — в дедовских шинах, я решил разработать новый, удобный, красивый и, главное,  — функциональный ошейник для ныряния под водой. С этой мыслью я приехал домой и первым делом пришел в наш Simpals Garage — отдел ноу-хау.
Я рассказал ребятам о своей идее нового, гидродинамичного и регулируемого ошейника для фридайвинга, и работа закипела.
Сначала были скетчи.

Главные фишки нашего профессионального фридайверского ошейника — регулируемый вес и эргономичность. А это значит, что он должен быть гидродинамичным, удобным, а регулируемый вес должен быть распределен равномерно над легкими спортсмена, а не только на шее — ведь именно полные легкие поднимают человека к поверхности воды.

И вот финальный концепт — эргономичная “подкова”, лежащая на плечах, и “хвост” вдоль позвоночника с регулируемой длиной:

Тааак, следующий этап — пластилиновый прототип:

Далее: изучаем тяжелые металлы, добавки к ним, технологии отлива, делаем гипсовую форму, заливаем, остужаем. Теперь у нас есть свинцовая болванка, покрашенная краской, и грузики на магнитах, которые…. не держатся… Ищем дальше.

Думаем, как можно соединить грузики сзади, чтобы они не разваливались.

Опять пластилин, гипс, отливка, окраска:

И снова провал. Не держатся грузики сзади — нужно кардинально менять крепление. И опять поиск… И вот решение:

И система грузов, которая позволит выбрать любой вес от 2.5 до 4.5 кг

Итак, спустя два месяца экспериментов и залитый гипсом третий этаж, появилась пятая версия крепления ошейника, которая оказалась удачной.

Но надевать на голое тело холодную, жесткую болванку — удовольствие не из приятных, поэтому мы решили обрезинить наш ошейник. Для этого было закуплено несколько видов PlastiDip-a. Результат неудовлетворительный, аэрозольная резина не прочная и не эластичная, рвется от любого пустяка.

Потом начали экспериментировать с разными сортами резины. Мы узнали, что такое твердость по Шору, хрупкость и вязкость резины. Мы столкнулись с тем, что пузырьки воздуха не хотят выходить из некоторых образцов — и мы купили вакуумную камеру. А чтобы получить нужный цвет, нам пришлось вылить еще ведро резины на 100 кг свинца. И вот, в результате мы получили прототип, с которым можно понырять…

А потом были тесты. Все прошло отлично — ошейник держался на шее крепко, на поворотах не слетал, хвост не рассыпался при переноске, не мешал сводить руки над головой. Но выявилась одна проблема — он неприятно давил на ключицы.
После мозгового штурма мы решили вставить силиконовые подушечки под резину ровно в том месте, где происходит контакт с ключицей.

После трех заливок с разным силиконом мы нашли оптимальную жесткость, и наш лобстер из удобного превратился в потрясающе удобного! А увидев его вживую, мы поняли как его назовем:
поприветствуйте — Lobster!

И черный Lobster:

Над ошейником работали монстры: Сергей Логвиненко, Трифэуцан Андрей, Юра Мельник, Быстрика Андрей, Костюков Григорий, Евгений Бойко.

Продукт готов. Теперь пришла пора маркетинга. Короче — раскручивать и продавать. А пока мы делаем сайт lobsterweight.com, я готовлюсь к чемпионату мира.

Подготовка

Готовился я к чемпионату, к сожалению, недолго. 29 мая бежал ультрамарфон Comrades в ЮАР, потом 2 недели болел. Осталось 2 недели до оффишиал топа, а я первый раз зашел в бассейн. Единственная надежда, что мои 2000 километров, которыe я пробежал с прошлогоднего чемпионата, не прошли даром для сердца и капиллярной сети. В хорошем смысле. Но пульс покоя, блин, всё-таки высокий: 63–67. До ультрика и болезни он был около 55.

Очень неправильно совмещать всякие айронмены, ультрамарафоны с фридайвингом — задействованы совершенно противоположные системы. И метаболизм должен быть разный, и диета, и режим, и короче всё, нельзя, фу!

Эй да, нельзя. Рекорда мира я, конечно, не установлю, но вот личник поднять до шести с половиной минут, думаю, получится. Поэтому тренируюсь, медитирую, задерживаю дыхание по утрам, ныряю и правильно жру все 2 недели (вместо круглого года). Семья провожает папку в путь, Мишка пишет пожелания:

Папка, кушай гречку. Ты меня научил кататься на велике. Победи там.

Всплакнув от умиления и взвалив на плечи 20 килограммов обрезиненного свинца с логотипом Lobster, мы с Серегой Легейдой (моим тренером) выдвигаемся в Финляндию.

Турку

В Турку мы приехали прямо во время церемонии открытия чемпионата. С корабля на бал. Сколько знакомых лиц!

Сборная России, Украины, Сашка Пангаев, Денис Рылов — судья из Одессы, который судил на наших соревнованиях вместе с Оленой Муха. Ну и легенды фридайвинга, конечно, —  Mateusz Malina, Goran Čolak, Александр Костышен, Giorgos Panagiotakis, Бубенчиков Саша, Молчанов Алексей, Aleix Segura и много других монстров.

Потом был брифинг, где нам напомнили правила.

Пообнимались, пофоткали и пошли смотреть Турку. Маленький город с речкой в центре и пару корабликов-ресторанов. Говорят, еще крепость есть старинная, но мы решили оставить ее историкам.

На следующий день организаторы разрешили нам сделать импровизированный стенд Лобстеров рядом с регистрацией. Такая морская лавка с морепродуктами. Серому не хватало фартука, резиновых перчаток и большого ножа, чтобы останавливать сбегающих членистоногих.

Вместо этого он раздавал брошюры, рассказывал о том, какой это супер-удобный, стильный и уникальный ошейник, помогая примерятъ. Ажиотаж был сильнее, чем у полярников, которым завезли свежую черешню. Девчонки хватали красный лобстер и красовались перед камерой, суровые пацаны солидно надевали черный и задавали сложные вопросы.

Презентация удалась на славу — Лобстер всем очень понравился, хотя без замечаний не обошлось. НО мы за ними и приехали, поэтому спасибо!
Ведь где, если не на чемпионате мира по фридайвингу, тестировать фридайверский девайс? Более целевой аудитории нет нигде в мире.

STA

Как же хорошо спится в Финляндии — мы сопели с Серегой всю ночь как два хорька, даже несмотря на залитую солнцем комнату. Да-да, мы застали полярный день — солнце светит всю ночь и, понятное дело, днем.

Рано утром, потянувшись, я сполз с кровати, смачно зевнул, медленно порастягивался минут десять, полчаса посидел в позе героя, вдыхая, задерживая и выдыхая чистый финский воздух, а потом опять залез под одеяло. Измерил пульс — … … … 65 … Тааак, пульс, зараза, высокий — так я и не восстановился полностью от болячки, ну что же, значит, соревнование будет непростым.

Серега собрал всех лобстеров, и мы поплелись в бассейн (именно поплелись, бодрым шагом пусть себе марафонцы на гонку идут). Мое стартовое время 10:30, и, значит, в 9:30 я должен быть перед судьями, если не успею — дисквалификация. В душе натянул на мыльные телеса теплый, пятимиллиметровый гидрик, неопреновые носки и шапочку. Отметился у судей, пошел на бортик отдыхать и ждать начала разминки.

За полчаса до старта Серега грубо спихнул меня в бассейн, и мы начали делать разминку. 2:30, отдых, 3:30, отдых, 4:30.

За 5 минут до старта мой сейфти (да, это я Серегу имею ввиду) оттащил меня в стартовую зону, где я, лежа на спине и думая о … точнее, ни о чем не думая, а просто глубоко дыша, жду обратного отсчета.

5,4,3,2,1, оффишиал топ — я набираю полные легкие воздуха и переворачиваюсь на живот.
Первые 3 минуты кайфую. В голове пустота и хорошо таак, лежал бы себе так час. Или два. Но организм против, и на 4 минуте начались контракции, а, значит, я смогу пролежать еще 2–2,5 минуты.

Начинаю бороться и считать сокращения диафрагмы. Обычно я выдерживаю 110–120. Пять минут и 50 контракций позади, еще смогу выдержать штук 70–80. Терплю.

Шесть минут и сто контракций — открываю глаза, уже плохо не на шутку, но есть и плюсы — как обычно, в конце задержки время летит с тройной скоростью. Наверное, это связанно с тем, что мозг хочет быстрее закончить это издевательство и поэтому включает турбо-режим.

Или заканчивай, или сдохни уже побыстрее, наконец!

— мозг

Не успел и глазом моргнуть как слышу Серегино “6:10!”. Подтягиваюсь к бортику, ставлю ноги на дно.

Очень хочется закончить эту пытку прямо сейчас, но сдаваться нельзя. Воздух начинает самопроизвольно выходить из легких — плохой знак, нужно заканчивать. Серега озвучивает каждые 5 секунд. Жду 6:30 и поднимаю голову над водой. Неполный выдох, вдоооох, выдох, вдооох. Сознание в норме, протокол, I’m ok!

6:30. Белая карточка! Нац. рекорд. Отлично, ай дид ит!
В прошлом году я нырнул 6:02. Пол минуты в год — не очень быстрый прогресс, но вода камень точит.

DNF

В тот же день идем на тренировку по плаванию под водой без ласт — Do Not Fins. Но не забываем про свою вторую миссию — Lobster. Разложили на краю бассейна, и тут началось — вау, что это? Можно попробовать? А сколько весит, а сколько стоит? А где заказать?

Но мы приехали не продавать, а тестировать, поэтому все желающие надевают ошейник, регулируют вес и ныряют. А мы, довольные, наблюдаем за этим приятным процессом. Приятным, потому что чувствуешь, что не зря было потрачено время, силы и деньги, и продукт получился классным.

Но без багов не обошлось — некоторые конструктивные особенности будем переделывать и допиливать, поэтому, несмотря на желание фридайверов купить Лобстер прямо сейчас, мы просим еще месяц на допилку до идеала.

Вот в один из таких моментов, когда я помогал датчанке Anette Rafen Ottzen поменять вес, низко сел на корточки, когда вдруг услышал треск и почувствовал холодок гораздо ниже поясницы. Смех Сереги все объяснил. Мой супер-пупер гидрик для рекордов приказал долго жить.

Ходить с таким смайликом на заднице было весело — у всех, кто не спит, просыпается чувство юмора, и я слышу вслед:

Эй, выдыхать нужно через рот!
Так можно не только воздух потерять, но и честь!
Ты ошибся павильоном — здесь порно не снимают!
Будешь ускоряться альтернативным способом?
Гидро-газо ускоритель?
Ничего, это второе дыхание :)

Но это добрый фридайверский юмор, что на него обижаться?
Но шутки — шутками, а мне нырять завтра в чем-то нужно, ведь нет костюма — нет соревнования. А учитывая мой стахановский пульс, завтра мне ничего не светит. Но нужно же Лобстер показать в деле, поэтому решаю проплыть хотя бы 75 метров, надев под костюм черные плавки — вроде не видно.

Перед этим пробую новый вид разминки — перед динамикой делаю статику, при этом не залезая в бассейн, чтобы не остыть. Сложно? Да. Помогает? Нет. По крайней мере мне.

Надеваю лобстер, оффишиал топ, ныряю, проплываю 75, выхожу, протокол.

Но не я один нырял с молдавским ошейником. Лучшая фридайверша Японии — Tomomi Suga Hamazaki тоже плыла с ним на соревновании, установила новый рекорд Японии и осталась очень довольна:

I feel my body is stable, not go up or down. Supporting back is more comfortable than supporting neck. In addition, neck is not pressed compare with normal neck weight, so I do not feel tighten neck. And, shape is quite cute!! I have made 160m PB and NR today DNF!! Thank you so much!!

По такому случаю мы пошли отмечать — жрать копченую колбасу, привезенную Серегой из Кишинева, и пить местный квас, кстати, очень вкусный. Да, теперь можно есть и пить всякую вкусную гадость. Ну наконец-то…

Собрав комментарии лучших фридайверов мира по ошейнику, мы решили два лобстера подарить участникам и два отдать организаторам (спасибо, Микки), чтобы они сами наградили чемпионов на свое усмотрение.

На финалы мы не остались, а вот зря — были установлены рекорды World Record DNF Mateusz Malina 244m, World Record DNF Magdalena Solich 185m.

Хельсинки

На следующий день, сбросив лишний вес в 20 кило, мы отправились в Хельсинки. Полазив по городу, решили что он точно попадает в десятку самых скучных, депрессивных и дорогих городов мира.

Хотя кое-что интересное мы увидели:

А еще я наконец-то дорвался до своего любимого лакомства — нутеллы с хлебом, мммм… Теперь я полностью счастлив :)

Ну и как же можно уехать из Финляндии, не попарившись в финской сауне? И вот мы нашли единственную, оставшуюся в живых общественную сауну на дровах — Kotiharjun sauna.

Вообще, обожаю общественные бани — в них чувствуется единство: там ты всегда свой — все знакомятся, толкают речи, ругают политиков, хвалят пиво и судачат про футбол и баб. Тут все равны, и не важно кто ты — политик, футболист или баба. Технологические отличия финской сауны не принципиальные, у финов нет головных уборов и заходят внутрь все голышом, без простыней и полотенец.

А фишка именно этой сауны в том, что люди отдыхают на улице, шокируя туристов. Ведь это совсем не по-фински. Ну, как по такому случаю не выкурить трубочку?

На сайте lobsterweight.com можно более подробно ознакомиться с информацией о Лобстере.