Why marathon runners dislike Edward VII, where you can pee in a green box and dab the meridian with your foot, who gets Grandma's sweater and why is it better to mix strychnine with Yessentuki?

The history of the marathon

London Marathon is one of the most famous, prestigious and iconic. Besides the fact that it makes part of the Big Six, the marathon in London is renowned for the fact that namely here the distance of 42 195 meters was  established for the first time.

And that’s how it was:

Let’s start with the legend: Ancient Greece, the ancient Greeks once again are at war with the ancient Persians, this time near the town Marathon, win and send a messenger with good news to the capital. Poor guy rushes to Athens, reaches it and with the words “Rejoice, the Athenians, we won!” dies and becomes a legend. 

And already in 1896, the International Olympic Committee decides to measure the distance between Athens and Marathon – 34.5 km. And they came up with the competition – marathon. But the athletes, who were running that same marathon, surprisingly for the Committee leadership, were not dying like the legend says, so by the end of the XIX century, the distance of the marathon was added up to 40 km.

And already in 1908, at the Olympic Games in London, something strange happened.  Edward VII, who was the monarch at that time, decided not to go out of the house, but to watch the start of the marathon with his family right from his window at Windsor Palace. Oh, well, a monarch is a monarch – they moved the start under the palace windows, having  prolonged the distance by 2 km 195 meters.

As a result, in 1921, the distance increased to 42 km 195 m was adopted and made the official one. Probably, his children were delighted, but millions of marathon runners remember since Edik then with a bad word in the last two kilometers.

Here, now you may also remember this jolly guy:

By the way, that historic Marathon is remarkable for another interesting story:

One of the  marathon participants, the Italian confectioner Dorando Pietri, decided that cakes will not take him far, and came up with a cunning plan – brandy with strychnine (Strychnine? Are you serious, Dorando?). This infernal mixture has a stimulating effect in small doses. But he should have mixed strychnine with Essentuki, because the brandy has played a cruel joke with confectioner – went to his head. Being the first runner to reach the Stadium White City, where the finish line was, Dorando got lost, confused the direction and started running not to the finish line, but in the opposite direction.

He was shown the right direction, but 70 meters before the finish line Dorando Pietri fell unconscious. Confectioner-addict was brought to life and helped to get to the finish line.

At that time, there were no rules, prohibiting the use of performance-enhancing drugs. But the athlete did not get a medal, because he was disqualified for the use of outside assistance. The winner of the race was the American Johnny Hayes. Dorando Pietri spent a few days in a hospital bed, and even induced the sympathy of the British Queen Alexandra, which on her own initiative handed the athlete a “consolation prize” – a copy of the golden Olympic Cup, handed to the winner of the marathon in addition to the medal. This story happened in 1908, but the marathon in London, as it is now known by the entire world, was founded in 1981, two years after the New York one. And the route now looks like this:

In short, the London Marathon is the dream of every runner, so I was eager to get here for a long time, but let’s do everything in the right order …

How it all began

It all started with the fact that I spent two years in a row trying to get to the London Marathon, participating in the lottery. And I lost both times. So, this year I tweaked out and went through a charitable foundation, which cost quite a lot…

And so, when I bought the slot, the tickets and the hotel, and I was going to apply for a visa, it turned out that my documents will get to consideration only the day before my departure … It’s too late … Ahhhh, holy shit! Am I really going to lose it again?

But we never give up, so I started scribbling poems to the British Ambassador in Moldova, Phil Batson, asking him to help me with the visa. The universe once again smiled at me – Phil turned to be a runner, and even socially oriented, so he gladly helped.

We, in turn, supported his call – to take part in the charity event, the purpose of which was to help the center for children with disabilities “Phoenix Centre”, in the framework of the Second International Marathon in Chisinau. Interview

Thank you, Phil, for both the opportunity to run London and for the idea of a charity collector at the next Chisinau marathon.

A couple of weeks have passed, and here we are with Vadim Zhelyaskov (marathoner and half iron dude) in the Capital of Great Britain!

Greenwich

What associations do you have with this word? Perhaps, the “Greenwich Meridian”? “GMT”? Or maybe just “London”? I have one more. It turns out that there is a whole area with this name in London. We settled there. The name for the area was selected under the influence of the British pedantry and predictability – the zero or Greenwich meridian goes next to our house.

The choice of zero meridian has no physical meaning, as opposed to, for example, the equator, and is determined by the geographer at his own discretion. But the British, as always, decide for everyone. So while no one was opposed, they decided that the zero meridian passes through London. And that the marathon distance is 42 195 meters. And that’s that. For this I truly respect them, well done guys …

Time zones were also not left without their attention. The British decided that the rest of the world has to live by the time that takes the count from London. That’s right, I support you.

And now we always have GMT+2, i.e 2 hours more than in London. Although, it is not so bad compared with Nepal – GMT+5:45.

 EXPO

The Exhibition of Achievements of the National running establishment of England was located at the ExCeL exhibition center, next to the O2 arena, and we got there by the fashionable aerial lift Emirates AirLine across the Thames.

Registration is a huge red space, with no queues, everything is done in a friendly, quick and accurate way. Even if you want to cavil to something, you won’t find anything.

The only oddity is that I didn’t find a T-shirt in the pack. As it turned out later, they give it out later at the finish line. This is fair: if you managed to run – wear the finisher’s T-shirt, if you could not – wear the grandma’s sweater.

I accidentally noticed an error in the questionnaire – they fixed it in a couple of minutes and apologized. Cool.

I can write a lot about the Expo itself, but it is almost as usually: cool, crowded, much, bright, different and expensive.

Let’s better look through the photos:

Field survey

The next morning we went out to run and decided to run to the start area and check, how the works are going. The works were in full swing:

The fences are put, the banners are hung, toilets are ready to receive visitors, miles marks are rising over the highway, and the arch is about to become a starting place.

On a cold, rainy night, we had the oatmeal-party, an unsuccessful attempt to find a GOOD weather forecast for tomorrow, and a photo of the second-hand:

Race

Morning in London on April 24th was cloudy, cold and wet. Just like all the weather resources promised. On the one hand it’s crappy, on the other – still better than the 25 degree heat. Filling our mouths with crackers and marmalade, like Paddington, me and Vadim went to the start line.

The starting zone of the London Marathon is a huge field, divided into 3 zones: green, red and blue. A blimp is hanging above each area, so that all 50,000 people saw where to go.

Each area is enclosed by a large fence and has one enter and 5-6 exits (gates), like in an airport. If you enter a zone, the volunteers take photo of your number, and no longer allow you go back. There is everything you need inside – toilets, cloakroom, hot tea, photographers and other frozen marathoners.

Your paper number is the address in the “city”. BIB color is the color of the speed zone, and a small figure below is the number of the gate. Gates are also divided by speed. Generally, the logistics is flawless – it is impossible to get lost.

An interesting detail. For the first time, I saw here an alternative to the toilets – peeing areas, only for those, who need to quickly drain off. The queue is long, but it moves very quickly. Boys inside are relieving themselves in the green boxes. And how the girls do it – I’ll never know …

15 minutes before the start, you step out of your gate and go to the long sausage of your color. In fact, 3 colorful crowds start in different places, which merge into one only a couple of kilometers later.

And here comes the start, everyone drops down their warm clothes, I decide to run in the windbreaker and hat, it is still +5 and humid. Here we roll!

The location is chosen great – I can run without overtaking anyone in my right pace – 4:50 minutes per km. The task for today is to run from 3:30 and not to exceed the average heart rate of 159.

10 kilometers later, it got noticeably warmer both outside and inside, so I took off my jacket to Vadim and ran light-handed. When I run at speed, I have neither the time nor the inclination to take pictures and shoot videos, so the gallery from this race is not so rich.

I could take photos of tons of things. Firstly, it is the fans, there sooooo many of them. They were standing in three rows near the fences throughout the entire 42 km distance. And in this weather – it’s a straight world record.

They shout, cheer, have fun – crazy Londoners, thank you. I didn’t see a lot of costumes, perhaps it is due to the fact that I was running in a relatively quick group, where people are running on the result.

There were also not so many entertainers in the distance, but you could drown in all the water available in convenient bottles all over the place! There was so much of it, that it was even privatized by the local “entrepreneurs”.

I was eating, out of habit, a lot. On the 15th and the 20th km, I sucked on a gel, on the 25th km – bonbons, 30 km – a protein bar. Never eat bars, when you run with the pulse higher than 160. I was eat them well, when I was running at 140, but today – it’s just not the right race. The fucking bar is sticky, it is chewed slowly, I have no water, the breath is  straying, the heart rate increases, the speed drops, you’re swearing, with difficulty swallow a hefty lump and curse your own stupidity. I bearly manage to reach the water, drink a lot, eat bonbons to kill the taste.

I have lots of forces, I start looking around – and what I have around is London. Handsome, such a solid, serious and important… Here is the Big Ben, wow, gorgeous.

The last mile… At the finish line, people were standing so tightly that Vadim could not force his way through to pass me the flag. Well, I finish with a virtual flag:

Arch, 3:26, the medal, a package with the T-shirt, photos, coldness, hugs, jacket, subway.

In the evening, we go out for the women, drink whiskey and cider, smoke cigars, and take photos with other marathoners. Oh well, just as always :)

And here, for dessert, are some figures about the London Marathon:

Results

Well, that’s the end of my series of slow races. 4 marathons in two months: Tokyo, Jerusalem, Rome and London. I learned how to run on the low pulse, not to kill the legs, enjoy the four-hour run, and most importantly – I stopped worrying about how am I going to run 90 km at the ultra marathon Comrades in late May?..

Почему марафонцы не любят Эдуарда VII, где можно пописать в зеленую коробку и потыкать в меридиан ногой, кому достается бабушкин свитер и почему стрихнин лучше мешать с ессентуками?

История марафона

Лондонский марафон — один из самых известных, престижных и культовых. Кроме того, что он в ходит в Большую Шестерку, марафон в Лондоне знаменит тем, что именно здесь впервые была установлена дистанция 42 195 метров.

И вот как это было:

Начнем с легенды: Древняя Греция, древние греки в очередной раз воюют с древними персами, на сей раз под городом Марафон, побеждают и отправляют гонца с хорошими вестями в столицу. Бедняга несется в Афины, прибегает и со словами “Радуйтесь, афиняне, мы победили!” умирает и становится легендой.

А уже в 1896-м Международный олимпийский комитет решает измерить расстояние между Афинами и Марафоном — 34,5 км. И придумали соревнование — марафон. Но спортсмены, которые бегали этот самый марафон, на удивление руководства комитета не умирали как в легенде, поэтому к концу XIX века дистанцию марафона подровняли до 40 км.

А уже в 1908-м на Олимпийских Играх в Лондоне произошло нечто странное. Тогдашний монарх Эдуард VII решил не выходить из дома, а посмотреть с семьей на старт марафона прямо из своего окошка Виндзорского дворца. Ну, что же, монарх есть монарх — старт переместили под окна дворца, увеличив дистанцию на 2 км 195 метров.

В результате в 1921-м увеличенную до 42 км 195 м дистанцию утвердили, сделав официальной. Наверное, его дети были в восторге, но миллионы марафонцев с тех пор вспоминают Эдика недобрым словом на последних двух километрах.

Вот запомните и вы этого веселого дядьку:

Кстати, тот исторический марафон интересен еще одной любопытной историей:

Один из участников марафонского забега, итальянский кондитер Дорандо Пьетри, решил, что на пирожных далеко не убежишь, и придумал хитрый план — бренди со стрихнином (стрихнин? ты серьезно, Дорандо?). Эта адская смесь в малых дозах обладает стимулирующим эффектом. Но мешать стрихнин нужно было с ессентуки, потому что бренди сыграл с кондитером злую шутку — вскружил ему голову. Вбежав первым на стадион White City, где находился финиш, Дорандо потерялся, перепутал направление и побежал не к финишной ленте, а в противоположную сторону.

Ему указали правильное направление, но за 70 м до линии финиша Дорандо Пьетри упал, потеряв сознание. Кондитера-наркомана привели в чувство и помогли добраться до финишной ленты.

.

Правил, запрещающих применение допинга, в то время еще не существовало. Но спортсмен не получил медали, так как был дисквалифицирован за использование посторонней помощи. Победителем забега оказался американец Джонни Хейс. Дорандо Пьетри провел несколько дней на больничной койке и даже вызвал сочувствие британской королевы Александры, которая по собственной инициативе вручила спортсмену “утешительный приз” — копию золотого Олимпийского кубка, врученного победителю марафона в дополнение к медали. История произошла в 1908 году, но марафон в Лондоне, каким его знает теперь весь мир, был основан в 1981 году, через два года после Нью-Йоркского. И сейчас трасса выглядит так:

Одним словом Лондонский марафон — мечта любого бегуна, поэтому я рвался туда давно, но обо все по порядку…

C чего все началось

Началось все с того, что я два года подряд пытался попасть на Лондонский Марафон, участвуя в лотерее. И оба раза пролетел. Поэтому в этом году психанул и поехал через благотворительный фонд, что обошлось в копеечку…
И вот, когда был куплен слот, билеты и отель, и я собрался подать документы на визу, оказалось, что мои документы попадут на рассмотрение за день до моего вылета… Поздно… Ааааа, твою ж дивизию! Неужели я опять пролетаю?
Но мы никогда не сдаемся, поэтому я стал строчить поэмы послу Великобритании в Молдове Филу Бэтсону с просьбой помочь с визой. Вселенная в очередной раз мне улыбнулась — Фил оказался бегуном, да еще и социально-ориентированным, поэтому он с радостью помог.

.

Мы в свою очередь поддержали его призыв — принять участие в благотворительной акции, цель которой — помощь центру для детей с ограниченными возможностями “Phoenix Centre”, в рамках второго Международного Кишиневского Марафона. Интервью

Спасибо, Фил, как за возможность пробежать Лондон, так и за идею благотворительного коллектора на следующем Кишиневском марафоне.

Прошла пара недель и вот мы с Вадимом Желясковым (марафонцем и наполовину железным чуваком) in the Capital of Great Britain!

Гринвич

Какие ассоциации у вас с эти словом? Наверное, “Гринвичский меридиан”? “Время по Гринвичу”? А может просто, “Лондон”? У меня есть еще одно . Оказывается, в Лондоне существует целый район с этим названием. И мы там поселились. Название района выбрано под влиянием британской педантичности и предсказуемости — рядом с нашим домом проходит нулевой, или Гринвичский меридиан.

Выбор нулевого меридиан не имеет физического смысла, в отличие, например, от экватора, и определяется географом по собственному разумению. Но англичане, как всегда решают сами за всех. Поэтому, пока никто не был против, они решили, что нулевой меридиан будет проходить через Лондон. А марафон будет 42 195 метров. И точка. Вот уважаю, молодцы ребята…

Часовые пояса тоже не остались без внимания. Англичане решили, что весь остальной мир должен жить по времени, которое берет отсчет от Лондона. Правильно, поддерживаю.

И теперь у нас всегда GMT+2, т.е на 2 часа больше чем в Лондоне. Хотя неплохо по сравнению с Непалом — GMT+5:45

EXPO

Выставка достижений народного бегового хозяйства Англии находилась в выставочном центре ExCeL, рядом с О2 ареной, и туда мы добрались на модной канатной дороге Emirates AirLine через Темзу.

Регистрация — огромное красное пространство, очередей нет, все дружелюбно, быстро и четко. Даже если и хочется доеб…ся, так и не до чего.

Единственная странность — в пакете не нашел майку. Как оказалось, позже её дают на финише. Это справедливо: смог пробежать — надевай майку финишёра, не смог — носи бабушкин свитер :)

Случайно заметил ошибку в анкете — исправили за пару минут и извинились. Круто.

Про само экспо писать можно много, но плюс-минус все как обычно: круто, людно, много, ярко, разно и дорого.

Давайте лучше фотки позырим:

Разведка

На след утро мы вышли побегать и решили побежать на место старта, проверить как идут работы. Работы шли полным ходом:

Ставятся заборы, вешают баннеры, туалеты готовы к приему посетителей, милевые отметки возвышаются над шоссе, а арка вот-вот превратится в место старта.

Холодным, дождливым вечером была овсянка-пати, безуспешная попытка найти ХОРОШИЙ прогноз погоды на завтра и фотография секондхенда:

Гонка

Утро в Лондоне 24 апреля было пасмурным, холодным и мокрым. Как и обещали все погодные ресурсы. С одной стороны херово, с другой — все-таки лучше, чем 25 градусная жара. Набив рот бутерами с мармеладом, как Падингтон, мы с Вадимом пошли к старту.

Стартовая зона Лондонского Марафона — это огромное поле, разбитое на 3 зоны: зеленое, красное и синее. Над каждой зоной висит дирижабль, чтобы все 50 000 человек видели куда им идти.

Каждая зона обнесена большим забором и имеет один вход и 5–6 выходов (гейтов), как в аэропорту. Если ты заходишь в зону, твой номерок проверяют волонтеры, фоткают, и обратно уже не выпускают. Внутри есть все необходимое — туалеты, переодевалки, чай горячий, фотографы и другие замерзшие марафонцы.

Твой бумажный номерок — это адрес в этом “городе”. Цвет биба — цвет скоростной зоны, а ниже маленькая цифра — это номер гейта. Гейты тоже разбиты по скорости. Вообще логистика безупречна — заблудиться невозможно.

Интересная деталь. Впервые здесь увидел альтернативу туалетам — писуальные зоны, только для тех, кому нужно быстро слить. Очередь длинная, но движется очень быстро. Внутри мальчики справляют нужду в зеленые коробки. А вот как девочки это делают — ума не приложу…

За 15 минут до старта ты выходишь из своего гейта и становишься в длинную колбасу своего цвета. Фактически, стартуют 3 разноцветные толпы в разных местах, которые сливаются в одну только через пару километров.

И вот старт, все сбрасывают теплую одежду, я решаю бежать в ветровке и шапке, пока +5 и влажно. Понеслась!

Место выбрано удачно — я могу бежать, никого не обгоняя, в нужном мне темпе — 4:50 мин на км. Задача на сегодня выбежать из 3:30 и при этом не превысить средний пульс выше 159.

Через 10 км стало заметно теплее как снаружи так и внутри, поэтому я скинул куртку Вадиму и побежал налегке. Когда я бегу на скорость, фоткать и снимать видео нет ни времени, ни желания, поэтому на этой гонке фоток мало.

Фоткать можно было много чего. Во-первых, это болельщики, их было оочень много. Они стояли в три ряда у заборов на протяжении всех 42 км. А при такой погоде — это прям рекорд мира.

Кричат, подбадривают, веселятся — сумасшедшие лондонцы, спасибо вам :) Костюмов видел не очень много, возможно, это связанно с тем, что я бежал в относительно быстрой группе, где люди бегут на результат.

Анимации на дистанции тоже было не очень много, зато воды в удобных бутылочках было залейся! Так много, что её даже приватизировали местные “предприниматели”.

Ел, по привычке, много. На 15 и 20 км высосал по гелю, 25 км — конфеты, 30 км — протеиновый батончик. Никогда не ешь батончики, когда бежишь с пульсом выше 160. Я прекрасно их ел, когда бежал по 140, но сегодня — не та гонка. Батон сцука вязкий, жуется медленно, воды нет, дыхание сбивается, пульс растет, скорость падает, ты материшься, с трудом глотаешь здоровенный комок и проклинаешь свою тупость. Кое-как добегаю до воды, много пью, заедаю шоколадными конфетами, чтобы перебить вкус.

Сил полно, начинаю смотреть вокруг — а вокруг Лондон. Красавчик, солидный такой, серьезный, важный… А вот и Бег Бен, ух, красотища.

Последняя миля…На финише люди стояли так плотно, что Вадим не смог протолкнуться, чтобы передать мне флаг. Что ж, финиширую с виртуальным флагом:

Арка, 3:26, медаль, пакет с майкой, фотки, холод, обнимашки, куртка, метро.

Вечером ходим по бабам, пьем виски с сидром, курим сигары, и фоткаемся с другими марафонцами. Впрочем, все как всегда :)

А вот на десерт некоторые цифры про Лондонский марафон:

Итоги

Ну вот и закончилась моя серия медленных гонок. 4 марафона за два месяца: Токио, Иерусалим, Рим и Лондон. Я научился бегать на низком пульсе, не убивать ноги, получать удовольствие от четырехчасового бега и главное — перестал переживать о том, как же я пробегу 90 км на ультра марафоне Comrades в конце мая?..