What do French use to iron their beaches? Why was I beaten as a child? Should I be happy about vaseline? How much does a VIP prison cell cost? How can Nutella calm your conscience? And what does it mean “to swim like a flea”?

Le Défi de Monte-Cristo

Actually, I like prisons and everything connected with them. Especially the jailbreaks. I already had to escape from a prison three years ago, in Alcatraz.

And I wanted to spend again some time behind bars, in a dreary and dark dungeon on an island, and to try to escape from there together with hundreds of “prisoners”.

This time I went to Château d’If, the second world-known prison. Alexandre Dumas was the one to make it famous telling us about the Count of Monte Cristo, this swim being named after him.

The Monte Cristo Swim is one of the most important and famous events in the annual calendar of swimmers from all over the world. Thousands of sportsmen come to Marseille at the end of June to have a unique opportunity to repeat Edmond Dantès’ mythical feat and swim 5 km from the prison-island to the coast.

Unfortunately, participants are not obliged to repeat all the details of Dantès’ escape and to start in a sack with tied legs. It would make their mission much more complicated. And the route is also different from the one described in the novel.

In a word, it’s a perfect place where I can do one more test training before Gibraltar in September.

So, Monte Cristo Swim:

• Distances: 5 km, 2.5 km and 1 km, with or without flippers. I’ve chosen 5 km without flippers.

• Every person over 16 years old can participate in Le Défi de Monte-Cristo, in the 1 km swim – swimmers from 12 to 15 years old.

• Wetsuit is optional, but 95% of swimmers take it. The water is about 20 degrees.

• Registration is online, on http://defimonte-cristo.com website, starting in early February. Everything is on French. As for me, I didn’t understand anything, so it’s better to learn French to fill in the registration form and read the e-mails faster, because the slots are sold in half an hour. And don’t forget about the medical certificate that confirms you can participate in the swim.

• Registration fee is from 20 to 40 euro, depending on the chosen slot. Prize fund is 3000 euro.

• Monte Cristo Swim is highly dependent on the weather conditions: in 2013 the swim was cancelled because of wind, and in 2016 the distances were shortened. So fingers crossed and pray.

So, after praying, packing my things and convincing my beloved that I won’t make it to the finish without her, I promised her to celebrate in a Michelin-starred restaurant. Well, if I will survive, of course. And we took the plane to Marseille.

Château d’If

And here we are – in the legendary city of Marseille. As for me – nothing special. The first acquaintance with the city was as usual, while running: narrow streets, the port, a market, the ferris wheel, the promenade, traffic jams, again streets that surprisingly remind me of San Francisco.

And, of course, after the running we went to the island of If, to get to know better the castle of the same name. And meanwhile we are breaking the waves on our boat, listen to the history of the castle.

In year 1527, the king of France decided to fortify the city and build a castle on the island of If. The dissatisfied pirates, who lived on the island, were dispersed, and already in 1531, the citizens of Marseille could watch the fortress that was supposed to protect the city from sea raids.

Beginning with the end of the XVI century, the castle was used as a prison – anyway it had no other purpose. And it was also well-located – it was almost impossible to escape from If castle. The island is surrounded by water, the flow is really fast, and even the strongest swimmers couldn’t cope with it (well, it’s easy, I tried myself). Only high risk offenders were imprisoned here.

But the most famous prisoner in the history of If castle was a detainee who never really existed. Of course, it’s Edmond Dantès, the hero of Alexandre Dumas’ novel “The Count of Monte Cristo”. Edmond was imprisoned due to a false report of jealous people on the 28th of February 1815, where he spent 14 years before escaping in a very original way.

There were sharp rocks near the coast of the island, that’s why for a prisoner to jump and swim to Marseille was nearly impossible. Besides this, there are strong flows in the coastal zone of the island, which are extremely difficult to cope with even for a physically strong person, not to speak of exhausted prisoners of If castle…

The conditions to which prisoners were subjected were so harsh, that If castle had earned itself a reputation of one of the most dangerous prisons in the world. The poor were supposed to stay in dirty, dark and overcrowded cells, filled with disease and unsanitary conditions.

Many people were chained to the walls, many died because of cold and hunger, some were spared and killed in a secret room. The bodies of the dead were thrown into the sea, but before that they were wrapped in rough cloth.

But it wasn’t that bad for rich detainees. If prisoner’s relatives had enough money, he was placed in the upper cell with windows and a fireplace, from where he could admire the sea and listen to the crashing waves.

These cells were called pistoles, because the rent was one pistole per day – approximately 250 euro nowadays. 7 500 euro a month – they must really worth a king.

No there are no gunshots around the fortress, except the start ones. The castle has become the main place of interest in Marseille. And every year, in June, it serves as the place of start for thousands of swimmers from all over the world.

Start expo

After a small excursion, we went to take our start kit. The start expo was conveniently located near the Grand Roucas beach, in Prado park, which is situated south of Marseille, near the Monte Cristo village.

The sun was hot as hell, the info center was empty, the expo didn’t work and tens of sweaty people were sadly standing in the queue to receive their kit.

The queue was small, but it wasn’t moving. After half an hour only 3 people left it. How can you spend 10 minutes on a single person? You only need to ask his last name, find out his number and give him his kit. Our girls from race kit pickup usually spend less than a minute on each person. I found the answer when it was my turn and a kind woman handed me a bunch of papers.

I don’t know whose idea was to sort the list of participants not by last names, but by their numbers (which nobody knows), but he really should be here to help each swimmer find his last name among dozens of papers, checking each line. For a second, 2500 lines with sportsmen’s names, sorted only by numbers which nobody knew (neither the sportsmen, nor the organizers). In order to find your last name and number, you need to check all the lists of participants.

After 10 minutes of list scanning, I found myself on the 17th page. Grunting happily, I proudly told this kind woman my number – 105.

Receiving my T-shirt and chip, Vika and I met some guys from Moldova. What a surprise! It turns out that two more Moldovans will participate in this legendary swim: Lyosha Kamenshik and his brother.

Well, good news must be celebrated with an ice-cream, a picture with the flag and an easy walk home.

DAY X

Morning came in the morning. Recently, in the morning before races I use to eat sandwiches with Nutella. Fast, tasty and energizing. And, of course, joyful :) When else will you have the chance to eat such a huge sandwich with a clear conscience? Better two. Or three?

We take a taxi and at 8 am we are already on the start. Wow! How do French people manage to daily “iron” their beaches to such flatness?

It looks like a mirror, not a beach. If our roads were as flat as the beaches in France, we would… would… damn it… nothing would change because of it. We just would have flat and smooth roads. Ehh…

People warm up, pull their wetsuits on the lower part of the body, apply sunscreen and try their swim caps and glasses.

A short briefing in French, where and how to swim. At least they said something in French. There are no more nationalities around. If you are not French, it’s your own fault. In fact, I’ve noticed that French people have too much chauvinism in their blood – there are We and those, how do you call them?… those… you know, Germans, Moldovans, Americans, Russians, Italians and other small people. No, of course, every great nationality has this disease, but French people seem to be the first at this.

The boat comes and we get into it, like a school of sardines, tightly packing in this metal vessel, to get out then near the prison – on the island of If.

After half an hour, we got on a deserted island, and the boat turned back to bring another school of sardines. The sun is hot, so we snuggle up in the shade, so as our carcasses do not begin to decay. But the shadow is too small, and we are too many, that’s why we stand tightly and rub against each other.

People begin to apply vase…

– Oh, God, no, vaseline! I forgot mine! Damn it, damn it!

No, wait! No more vaselineless swims, not today – I already have swum dry and made bloody calluses. I don’t want anymore. There are good people around, so after a few minutes I’m already diligently smearing the cream on my neck, thinking:

Why the hell does a swimmer in a wetsuit all the time need to apply this “delicate cream” on his neck? Maybe someone could come up with something that will keep the neck safe without lubricants?

My thoughts were interrupted by a sudden sound of the sardine ship, sailing towards us. And one more portion of fish-swimmers went out of it. But since there was no more place on the island, people began to slide into the water and warm up.

Even though there are only 30 minutes before the start, Lyoha and I decided to dip too. The start will be from water, so I take the strategically right path and swim towards the first line in the stalls. It’s also possible to start from the amphitheater or from the balcony, but today will be a gun start, so every meter counts.

Note: Gun start (or gunshot) – is a way of start on competitions, when all the sportsmen start simultaneously, no matter how far they are from the finish. So, it’s more advantageous to be in the first lines, because the last ones will have to swim more. But, in practice, it’s impossible for all the participants to cross the start line at the same time, it takes a few minutes. That’s why on AIMS certificated races (Chisinau International Marathon, for example) the organizers give the participants special electronical chips, that record the individual time of crossing the start line. And for each finisher is recorded not only the fact of finish, but also his intermediate results and so-called “brutto” and “netto” time: from the moment of start and from the moment of crossing the start line, respectively. But Monte Cristo Swim is held differently – everybody starts simultaneously, so if you want to swim for a result, fight for the first lines.

Lyoha remained in the back to calmly accelerate without panic or adrenaline – also a good choice for start. But not for me. I like the agitation, so, saying “sorry” left and right and smiling charmingly, I push forward. But there are 20 more minutes before the start, so I slowly wipe my glasses, put my nose clip, let some water in my wetsuit…

BANG!!!!

What’s happening? The gun start sounded out of the blue, 18 minutes earlier before expected! The water around me began to boil, everyone rushed ahead! Panic!

Stop, take it easy, u-huh, watches, I need to turn on the GPS, satellites, where are you???? Ok, I’ll find them later, there is no time to lose. Speaking to the organizers in my head, and trying to explain them with simple, but obscene words, that it isn’t good to do such things, I start to swim.

I was beaten as a child. Less home, more at school. Not very hard, but with remarkable frequency. Oh, how I wished then to grow up and get back at those bullies. And now I grew up, and proved to myself and to everybody else that I’m not that scared child anymore, who cannot pull-up three times, and that now I am an ironman and participate in such great events, which can take someone’s breath away, but…

I’m beaten again.

Not very hard, but with remarkable frequency. Maybe, it’s about karma. Today I felt like I’ve done more wrong things than usual, and the Universe is now punishing me way harder, because I was beaten really bad. I was in the middle of everything, among professionals and all of those who want to become one. I took hits to my glasses, nose, head, someone swam on me from above, and when I, out of breath, decided to emerge from the water, someone hit me right in the face. I’ve been through such starts in my career, but it’s the first time when I’m beaten for so long time. This torture lasted 15 minutes. The Count of Monte Cristo, even if he could get out of his sack, probably wouldn’t make it to the coast with such a hailstorm of hits.

But, despite the bruises, I was feeling happy, because I achieved my main goal – a fast start. With those dozens of fast swimmers who cut the water ahead, it was easier for me to swim faster than usual.

My strategy for today is drafting. Or, how we use to call it – tag along. It’s useless to draft behind a swimmer who’s slower than you, but the fast ones start from the first lines. So I’m looking for a victim, because today I’m a parasite! I have plenty of options, and I “cling” to… I don’t know who am I clinging to, it’s not important. The important thing is to avoid touching his heels – it’s very unpleasant, I know firsthand, and to parasyte in such a way, that the host doesn’t feel any discomfort.

During the whole race, I managed to switch between hosts at least ten times, and a couple of times I’ve noticed that someone tried to parasyte on me. I overtook some people to cling to others, who were faster, and when they got slowlier, I switched to another one. Like a flea. But there were some guys who’s pace was too fast for me, so I lag behind. And this way, switching from one to another, I swam approximately 3 km, saving my forces.

I take a look at my watch. Average pace 1:38 per 100 meters. Awesome. Sometimes during drafting I managed to reach 1:23. Perfect. Even too much. But I suppose there are some favorable currents – this speed is not typical for me, but anyone warned about that.

No feeling of tiredness, the water is wonderful – transparent, cool, a little bit salty, I’m full of forces. I can’t believe this, where’s the catch? I swim and think about what to write in my report: nobody wants to read fairytales like:

Once upon a time there was a prince. He went to fight the Dragon, easily won and turned back home with a princess. And they lived together happily ever after.

That sucks.

But, fortunately for readers, the dragon (my wetsuit) began to rub my neck. So I can’t think of anything, except for escaping this terrible pain. It contributes to new ideas of preventing the discomfort the next time. And so, through my rubbed neck, an idea comes to my head:

What if to make a cuff for neck? Such a reusable condom, which will protect swimmer’s neck from rubbing… Interesting… When I come back to Chisinau, I will definitely tell the guys from “garage” this new idea.

While I was thinking, I didn’t notice how the finishing buoy appeared on the horizon. And when I saw it, I decided to accelerate. But when you try to do your best on competitions, it seems like you can’t go any faster, because you’re already feeling bad. But there is always room for that. And it usually doesn’t feel worse.

My heart rate grows with the speed, and the air is not enough even for 2 movements. And this way I go to the finish, overtaking a couple more people. My watch shows and average pace of 1:37. Awesome!

There is a low arch on the finish, right above the water. I dive under it, emerge, stand up, wobble, take the flag (thank you, my beloved) and, fighting off the volunteers who want to take off my chip, run to the finish.

I look for the girls who give the medals and… can’t find them.

– Hey, girls, I’m here! Where are you? My tired neck is ready to feel the weight of my well-deserved medal!

And there’s no answer… only the presenter screams something into the microphone in French, and you understand, that there is no medal for today… But I pretend that everything is OK, kiss my invisible medal, and think to myself:

It feels like greediness. I pay you 40 euro for this race, is it so hard to spend 4 euro on a medal? And I’m telling this not only as a sportsman, but also as an organizer of dozens of sport events, including the swim on Ghidighici lake and the international marathon in Chisinau. We give each participant a backpack, a T-shirt and a medal. And he pays only 10-15 euro. And usually we do not cover the costs, but it’s not the point. The point is that you should feel like a hero on the finish line, to have fond memories of this event, of a professional organization, smiling volunteers and an atmosphere of happiness and personal victories.

I am totally convinced that each major swim or race, where an ordinary man, training hard for months, overcomes his laziness, fears and pain, should lead each participant to a Medal. For a man who was able to get over himself, it’s the symbol of victory, and he will show this symbol to his grandchildren, as his grandfather once used to show him his medals.

But here I all the time felt myself like a punching bag, which nobody does care about, begging with the website in French, the foolish registration, the total mess on the start, lack of medals and an atmosphere of general indifference.

I’ve had such an experience only on Cyprus marathon. The indifference towards runners and organization was so high, that I refused to write a report about that marathon. And when I saw how the director of the route wrote an S letter on the asphalt with chalk and told us that it’s the start line, I understood that people just make money. And I have this unpleasant feeling again.

The New York marathon and Comrades make money too. BUT. It’s a holiday with music, fun, a perfect organization, billions of supporters, “We love you!” in the air, and you are happy.

Well, enough whining, we are the ones to make ourselves a party, so we went to celebrate the race with guys. And there is something to celebrate – to swim 5 km in 01:19, with an average pace of 1:37 and to be ranked the 110 out of 640, for me is a good thing to celebrate!

The details of the swim: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1813988377

It was hard, but I’m still alive, so we go with my beloved to eat some local delicacies in Le Petit Nice restaurant. As I promised :)

All in all, if you, like me, don’t care about the mistakes of organization, it’s worth to spend a couple of days in Marseille, to walk through Château d’If, to eat bouillabaisse, and, of course, to feel like the count of Monte Cristo, swimming in the warm waters of the Mediterranean Sea.

But I continue my path to Gibraltar – swim about 40 km a month in the pool and in open water, participate in Bosphorus, Seamile, swim longs in Croatia, Barcelona and Turkey. And on one of the days between the 7th and the 12th of September, I will enter the water in Europe and get out of the water in Africa…

Чем французы гладят пляжи, почему меня били в детстве, радоваться ли вазелину, сколько стоит тюремная вип-палата, как нутелла успокаивает совесть и что значит плыть как блоха?

Le Défi de Monte-Cristo

Вообще, я люблю тюрьмы и все, что с ними связанно. Особенно побеги. Мне уже приходилось сбегать из тюрьмы три года назад, в Алькатрасе.

И вот опять захотелось побывать за решеткой, в угрюмом и мрачном подземелье на острове и попытаться “смыться” оттуда вместе с сотнями “заключенных”.
На этот раз я поехал в Замок Иф, вторую в мире тюрьму по известности. Раскрутил ее Александр Дюма, рассказав нам про графа Монте Кристо, в чью честь и назван этот заплыв.

Заплыв Монте-Кристо — одно из самых важных и популярных событий в ежегодном календаре пловцов со всего мира. Тысячи спортсменов приезжают в Марсель в конце июня, чтобы получить уникальную возможность повторить мифический “подвиг” Эдмона Дантеса и проплыть 5 км от острова-крепости до берега.

К счастью, участники не обязаны полностью повторять все детали побега Дантеса и стартовать в мешке с завязанными ногами. Это бы сильно усложнило задачу. Да и маршрут тоже отличается от того, который описан в романе.

Одним словом, идеальное место, где я смогу провести еще одну контрольную тренировку перед Гибралтаром в сентябре.

Итак, заплыв Монте Кристо:

• Дистанции: 5 км, 2,5 км и 1 км, с ластами или без. Я выбрал 5 км без ласт.

• Участвовать в заплыве Le Défi de Monte-Cristo может любой человек, старше 16-ти лет, в заплыве 1 км — пловцы в возрасте 12–15 лет.

• Гидрокостюм — по желанию. Желание возникает у 95% пловцов. Вода — около 20 градусов.

• Регистрация проходит на сайте http://defimonte-cristo.com в начале февраля. Все на французском языке. Нифига не понятно, поэтому заранее выучите французкий язык, чтобы быстро заполнить анкету и прочитать емэйлы, потому что слоты разбирают за полчаса. И не забудьте медицинский сертификат, подтверждающий пригодность к заплыву.

• Регистрационный взнос — от 20 до 40 евро, в зависимости от выбранного слота. Призовой фонд — 3000 евро.

• Заплыв Монте-Кристо сильно зависит от погодных условий — в 2013 заплыв отменили из-за ветра, а в 2016 сильно сократили дистанции. Так что молитесь.

И вот, помолясь, собрав вещи и убедив любимую, что без нее я не доплыву, я пообещал ей отметить это дело в ресторане со звездой Мишлен, ну если выживу, конечно. И мы вылетели в Марсель.

ЗАМОК ИФ

И вот мы в легендарном городе — в Марселе. Марсель себе как Марсель, ничего особенного. Первое знакомство с городом произошло как обычно, на бегу — узкие улочки, порт, рынок, колесо обозрения, набережная, пробки опять улочки, удивительно напоминающие Сан Франциско.

Ну и, конечно же, после пробежки мы отправились на остров Иф, чтобы поближе познакомиться с одноименным замком. А пока мы рассекаем волны на катере, послушайте историю замка.

В 1527 году король Франции решил укрепить город и построить замок на острове Иф. Недовольных пиратов, который обосновались на острове, разогнали, и уже в 1531 жители Марселя могли наблюдать крепость, которая по идее должна была защищать город от нападения с моря.

С конца 16 века замок стали использовать в качестве тюрьмы — что ему стоять без дела? Да и расположен он удачно — совершить побег из замка Иф было практически невозможно. Остров был окружен водой, течение здесь очень быстрое, и даже самые сильные пловцы не могли с ним справиться (фигня, проверено лично). Сажали сюда как правило особо опасных преступников.

Но самым знаменитым заключенным в истории замка Иф был арестант, которого никогда не существовало. Конечно же, это Эдмон Дантес, герой романа Александра Дюма “Граф Монте-Кристо”. Эдмон был заключен в тюрьму по ложному донесению завистников 28 февраля 1815 г., где провел 14 лет, сбежав весьма оригинальным способом.

У берега острова находились острейшие камни, поэтому прыгнуть заключенному в море и доплыть до Марселя было практически невозможно. Кроме этого, в прибрежной зоне острова проходят сильнейшие течения, с которыми даже физически выносливому человеку справиться крайне трудно, что уж говорить об истощенных узниках замка Иф…

Условия, в которых находились заключенные, были настолько суровыми, что тюрьма прославилась, как одна из самых страшных в мире. Бедняки находились в грязных, темных, переполненных камерах, где царили болезни и антисанитария.

Многие были прикованы к стенам, многие умирали от холода и голода, некоторым облегчали участь, убивая в секретной комнате. Тела покойников сбрасывали со скалы острова в море и перед этим их заворачивали в грубую ткань.

Но для богатых заключенных было не все так плохо. Если у родственников заключенного были деньги, его садили в верхнюю камеру с окнами и камином, из которой виднелось море и слышался шум прибоя.

Эти камеры называли пистолями, потому что аренда составляла один пистоль в день — примерно 250 euro на сегодняшние деньги. 7 500 евро в месяц — действительно королевские хоромы.

Сейчас в крепости и ее округе никаких залпов не слышно, кроме стартовых. Достопримечательность стала визитной карточкой Марселя. А в июне каждого года отныне служит местом старта для тысяч пловцов всего мира.

Стартовый городок

После экскурсии мы пошли забрать стартовые пакеты. Стартовый городок уютно расположился у пляжа Grand Roucas Blanc в парке Прадо, находящемся к югу от Марселя, где находится деревня Монте-Кристо (Village Monte Cristo).

Солнце пекло, как в аду на пересменке, в инфо-центре было пусто, экспо не работало, и только несколько десятков потных людей грустно стояли в очереди за стартовыми пакетами.

Очередь была небольшой, но почему-то не двигалась. Прошло полчаса, а она сократилась только на 3 человека. Ну как можно тратить на одного человека 10 минут? Ведь нужно всего лишь спросить фамилию, узнать номер и выдать пакет. Наши девчонки на выдаче стартпакетов тратят на одного человека не более 1 минуты. Ответ я получил, когда подошла моя очередь и милая женщина протянула мне кипу листов.

Не знаю, кто придумал отсортировать список участников не по ФИО, а по номерам (которых никто не знает), но ему стоило бы стоять тут и помогать каждому пловцу искать свою фамилию среди десятков листов, проверяя каждую строчку. На секундочку, 2500 строчек с именами спортсменов, отсортированных только по номерам, которых никто не знал (ни спортсмены, ни организаторы). Чтобы найти свою фамилию и номер, нужно пересмотреть все-все списки участников.

Прошло 10 минут сканирования списков и перекладывания листов, обнаружив себя на 17 странице и радостно хрюкнув, я гордо сообщил милой женщине свой номер — 105.

Получив майку и чип, мы с Викой встретили ребят из Молдовы. Вот это сюрприз! Оказывается завтра еще два молдаванина будут участвовать в этом легендарном заплыве: Леша Каменщик и его брат.

Ну что же, отличные новости нужно отметить мороженым, фоткой с флагом и легкой прогулкой домой.

ДЕНЬ ИКС

Утро наступило утром. В последнее время, утром в день гонки я приноровился лопать бутерброды с нутеллой. Быстро, вкусно, энергоемко. Ну, и конечно, радостно :) Когда еще съешь с чистой совестью такой мощный бутер? А еще лучше два. Или три?
Такси, и вот в 8:00 мы на старте. Вау! Как французы умудряются так отглаживать пляжи ежедневно?

Просто зеркало, а не пляж. Если бы у нас автомагистрали были бы такими же ровными, как пляжи во Франции, мы бы… мы бы… блин… да ничего бы не поменялось из-за этого. Просто у нас были бы очень ровные и гладкие автомагистрали. Эхх…

Народ разминается, натягивает гидрики на нижнюю часть туловища, мажется солнцезащитными кремами и примеряет шапочки с очками.

Короткий брифинг на французском, куда и как плыть. Ну хоть на французском что-то сказали. Других-то национальностей тут нет. Кто не француз — тот сам виноват. Вообще, за французами замечаю избыток шовинизма в крови — есть Мы и есть эти, как их, нуу, эти, блин… какие-то там немцы, молдаване, американцы, русские, итальяшки и прочий народец. Нет, конечно, эта болячка присуща всем великим народам, но французы прям на передовой.

Вот подходит лодка, и нас, как стайку сардин, плотно упаковывают в железную посудину, чтобы потом выпустить на свободу возле тюрьмы — у острова Иф.

Спустя полчаса мы оказываемся на пустынном острове, а лодка отправляется за новой партией сардин. Солнце припекает, и чтобы тушки не испортились, мы, прижимаясь друг к другу, прячемся в тенечке. Но тени мало, а нас много, поэтому стоим плотненько, тремся телесами.

Люди начинают натирать себя ва….
— Блин, блин, вазелин! Итить твою налево! А я свой забыл!
Нет, стоп! Безвазелинового заплыва сегодня не будет — плавал я уже насухую и до кровавых мозолей. Больше не хочу. Добрые люди есть, и вот я старательно размазываю крем по шее, рассуждая на тему:

А нафига вообще пловцу в гидрокостюме каждый раз мазать “деликатным кремом” шею? Может можно что-то придумать, чтобы шея оставалась целой и без смазки?

Мои мысли прервал звук подплывающего сардиновоза. Оттуда вывалилась еще одна порция рыбин-пловцов. Но так как на острове места уже почти не оставалось, народ начал сползать в воду и разминаться.

Хотя до старта еще полчаса, мы с Лехой решили тоже окунуться. Старт будет с воды, поэтому я решаю занять стратегически правильную позицию и плыву к первому ряду в партере. Можно стартовать и из амфитеатра или балкона, но сегодня будет “ганстарт”, поэтому каждый метр на счету.

Справка: Ганстарт (Gun start или выстрел из пистолета) — вариант старта на соревнованиях, при котором все спортсмены стартуют одновременно, вне зависимости, как далеко от финиша находятся. Поэтому выгоднее находиться впереди всех — ведь заднему придется плыть большее расстояние. Однако фактически пересечь линию старта одновременно всем участникам невозможно, на это уходит несколько минут. Поэтому на сертифицированных AIMS пробегах (например, Кишиневский Международный Марафон) организаторы снабжают участников специальными электронными чипами, фиксирующими индивидуальное время пересечения линии старта. Для каждого финишировавшего учитывается при этом не только факт финиша, но и промежуточные результаты и т. н. «брутто» и «нетто» время: от момента старта и от момента пересечения стартовой линии соответственно. Но заплыв Монте-Кристо проводится иначе — все стартуют одновременно и поэтому, если хочешь плыть на результат — пробивайся вперед.

Леха остался сзади, чтобы спокойно разогнаться без паники и адреналина — тоже неплохой вариант для старта. Но не для меня. Я люблю кипиш и поэтому, раздавая направо и налево “сорри” и очаровательную улыбку, продвигаюсь вперед. До старта еще 20 мин, поэтому я, неспеша, протираю очки, цепляю на нос зажим, запускаю воду в гидр…

БАБАХ!!!!

Что происходит? Как гром среди ясного неба, на 18 минут раньше положенного времени прозвучал стартовый выстрел! Вокруг меня закипела вода — все ломанулись вперед! Паника!

Так, стоп, спокойно, часы, нужно запустить gps, спутники, где вы???? Ладно найдем потом, нельзя терять время. Мысленно общаясь с организаторами, и пытаясь простыми, но запрещенными в приличном обществе словами объяснить им, что так делать нехорошо, начинаю грести.

Меня били в детстве. Дома реже, в школе чаще. Не сильно, но с завидной периодичностью. О, тогда я мечтал быстрее вырасти и отомстить обидичкам. И вот я вырос, и доказал себе и всем, кто глумился надо мной в школе, что я уже не тот испуганный третьекласник, который не может подтянуться три раза, что теперь я — железный человек и ввязываюсь в такие невероятные переделки, от которых у других захватывает дух, но…
Меня опять бьют.

Не сильно, но с завидной периодичностью. Видно карма у меня такая. Сегодня я почувствовал, что накосячил перед Вселенной больше, чем обычно, потому что лупили меня не по-божески. Я оказался в самой гуще событий, среди профиков и тех, кто хочет им стать. Я получал по очкам, по носу, по затылку, по мне кто-то проплывал сверху, а когда я, обалдевший, выныривал, то тут же получал оплеуху по голове. Такие старты бывали в моей карьере, но впервые меня лупасили так долго. Истязание продолжалось минут пятнадцать. Граф Монте Кристо, даже если бы и выбрался из мешка, вряд ли дотянул бы до берега под таким градом ударов.

Но, несмотря на синяки, я был доволен, ведь я добился главного — быстрого старта. Десятки быстрых пловцов так взлохматили воду, что я смог плыть за ними намного быстрее обычного.

Вообще, моя стратегия на сегодня — это драфтинг. Или как говорят — упасть на хвост. Бессмысленно драфтить за пловцом, который медленнее тебя, а быстрые стартуют первыми. Поэтому я ищу себе жертву, ведь сегодня я — паразит! Выбор богатый, и я “цепляюсь” за …. не знаю, за кого, это не важно. Важно не цеплять его(ее) пятки руками — это неприятно, знаю по себе, и паразитировать так, чтобы хозяин не чувствовал дискомфорта.

За всю гонку я сменил хозяев раз десять, не меньше, и пару раз замечал, что кто-то прилип и ко мне. Некоторых я обгонял, чтобы зацепиться за другого, более быстрого, а когда он сбавлял обороты, перескакивал на следующего. Как блоха. Но были и такие, за которыми я удержаться не мог, и отваливался. Вот так, прыгая с одного на другого, я проплыл примерно 3 км, сэкономив силы.

Поглядываю на часы. Средний темп 1:38 на 100 метров. Отлично. Временами во время драфтинга он доходил до 1:23. Прекрасно. Даже слишком. Все-таки я подозреваю, что есть попутное течение — не типичная для меня скорость, хотя об этом никто не предупреждал.

Чувства усталости нет, вода прекрасна — прозрачная, прохладная, в меру соленая, сил полно. Какая-то ерунда, где подвох? Плыву и думаю, о чем же я буду писать отчет, ведь скучно читать сказки типа:

Жил был принц. Пошел он биться с Драконом, победил его одной левой и вернулся с принцессой. И жили они долго и счастливо.

Отстой.

Но, к счастью для читателей, дракон в виде гидрика начинает сильно натирать шею. Так, что ни о чем, кроме как о избавления от боли не могу думать. Это способствует появлению новых идей по предотвращению дискомфорта в следующий раз. И вот, через натертую шею, в голову приходит идея:

А почему бы не сделать манжету на шею? Такой себе многоразовый презерватив, который защитит шею пловца от натирания… Интересно… По приезду в Кишинев обязательно подкину ребятам в “гараж” новую идею.

За размышлениями я не заметил, как на горизонте показался финишный буй. А когда увидел, то решил прибавить газу. Хотя когда впахиваешь на соревнованиях всегда кажется, что прибавлять уже некуда, потому что и так плохо. Но на самом деле всегда есть куда. И хуже обычно не становится.

Пульс растет вместе со скоростью, и вот уже воздуха не хватает даже на 2 гребка. Вот так и пашу до финиша, обгоняя еще пару человек. Часы показывают средний темп 1:37. Огонь!

На финише стоит низкая арка прямо в воде, ныряю под нее, выскакиваю, встаю, шатаюсь, хватаю флаг (спасибо, любимая) и, отбиваясь от волонтеров, которые норовят снять с меня чип, бегу к финишу.

Ищу глазами девочек, которые вешают медали и… не нахожу.

— Эй, девчата, я тут! Где вы? Моя натруженная шея готова принять вес заслуженной медали!

А в ответ тишина… и только ведущий кричит что-то в микрофон на французском, а ты понимаешь, что медали сегодня не будет… Но делаю вид, что все по плану, целую невидимую медаль, а сам думаю:

По моему это жлобство. Если я плачу вам за гонку 40 евро, неужели жалко потратить 4 евро на медаль? Я говорю это не только как спортсмен, но и как организатор десятка спорт. ивентов, включая заплыв на Гидигиче и международный марафон в Кишиневе. Мы дарим каждому участнику рюкзак, майку и медаль. При этом он платит всего лишь 10–15 евро. И обычно выходим в минус, но это не главное. Главное, чтобы ты на финише почувствовал себя героем, чтобы у тебя осталась приятные воспоминания об этом мероприятии, о профессиональной и четкой организации, улыбчивых волонтерах и душевной атмосфере всеобщего счастья и личных побед над собой.

Я абсолютно убежден, что любые массовые заплывы/забеги/заезды, там, где обычный человек, упорно тренируясь месяцами, преодолевает свою лень, свои страхи и боль, должны приводить каждого участника к заслуженной Медали. Для человека преодолевшего себя, это символ победы, и этот символ он будет показывать своим внукам, как когда-то ему показывал свои медали дед.

Здесь же я постоянно чувствовал себя дойной коровой, на которую всем наплевать, начиная с сайта на французском языке, бестолковой регистрации, неразберихи на старте, отсутствия медалей и атмосфере всеобщего безразличия.

Подобный опыт был у меня на марафоне на Кипре. Настолько пофигистическое отношение к бегунам и организации, что я даже не стал писать отчет об этом марафоне. Когда я увидел, как директор трассы нарисовал мелом на асфальте букву S и сообщил нам, что это линия старта, я понял, люди тупо зарабатывают деньги. И вот сейчас опять это неприятное ощущение.

Нью-Йоркский марафон или Comrades тоже зарабатывает. НО. Это праздник, веселье, музыка, безукоризненная организация, миллионы болельщиков, в воздухе парит “Мы любим тебя!” и ты счастлив.

Ну да ладно, хватит ныть, ведь по большому счету мы сами себе делаем праздник, поэтому мы с ребятами идем отмечать гонку. Тем более, есть, что отмечать — проплыть 5 км за 01:19, со средним темпом 1:37 и занять 110 место из 640 — для меня отличный повод отметить!

Детали заплыва: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/1813988377

Было трудно, но я остался жив, и поэтому мы идем с любимой лопать местные деликатесы в ресторан Le Petit Nice. Как и обещал :)

В общем, если вам, как и мне, по большому счету, наплевать на огрехи организации —все-таки стоит провести несколько дней в Марселе, погулять по Замку Иф, поесть буйабеса, и конечно же, почувствовать себя графом Монте Кристо, молотя руками в теплых водах Средиземного моря.

Ну а я продолжаю свою дорогу к Гибралтару — наматываю по 40 км в месяц в бассейне и в открытой воде, собираюсь на Босфор, Seamile, буду плавать длинные в Хорватии, Барселоне и Турции. А в один из дней с 7 по 12 сентября, я зайду в воду в Европе и выйду из воды в Африке…