How to avoid a meeting with the aircraft carrier, what kind of buoy... you have to hold up, how many languages ​​should a swimmer know, where should you apply Coke after a swim, and what happens when you start to row like hell?

I am hanging. Five meters below me, a beautiful reef bottom and a flock of colorful fish scratching their heads over the floundering person. Yes, I’m floundering, thrashing the water with arms and legs, without moving, as if someone broke all the laws of physics.

I’m just hanging with that flock of fish in the Caribbean Sea. If the fish looked into my eyes wide open, they would have seen the horror …

How it all began

This year, I decided to make myself a birthday gift and bought a slot on Oceanman – International Swimming Championship in open water.

The first launch of this series took place recently, in April 2015, but the project is developing very fast. In 2016, Oceanman holds five races (Palamos, Lake Orta, Cozumel, Tabarka) and the finals in Benidorm.

Three distances are available for each swimming race:

OCEANMAN (6-14 km)

HALF OCEANMAN (3,5-5 km)

POPULAR (1 -2 km)

Until now, the project involved Spain and Italy, but this year, for the first time, the swimming race will be held in Mexico, on the island of Cozumel, and that’s where I go to swim 10 km in the Caribbean Sea.

My accompanying support is my old friend – Serega Shmygalev. Good and old. As he calls himself, “One friend of Volocean”

Mexico

We arrived in Cancun. We took the car and went crazy a little:

I’ve been wanting to celebrate my birthday at CocoBongo club! Yes, in that same from the movie “The Mask”. By the way, the network of these clubs belongs to Jim Carrey. Without going into details (which were quite a lot, just like tequila), I will tell you that the show was fantastic, and the birthday rocked. At least, that part of it that I remember.

Chichen Itza is the largest preserved Mayan city. I did not think I could be impressed by a mass of rocks. It indeed is a powerful place, be sure to visit it in the Yucatan!

Cenote are flooded caves, where, as they say, the ancient Maya and Aztec priests were throwing sacrifices. We dived there from the heart – the water is clear and warm, and the stalagmites and dark gorges induce awe.

Well, how could I ignore a wonder of the world – the underwater museum in Cancun? Really absolutely brilliant idea to put a sculptural complex under water and get tourists there! However, the organization of the tour by the company Aquaworld was below average. Lots of tourists, little time, come on, come on. However, half an hour was enough for us to be really shocked!

In the morning, I got Serega hooked up on pranayama (breathing exercises with the purification of consciousness, downtrodden with thoughts), so each morning started at 6 am with the question -“Are we breathing?”. And we sat down in a pose a la lotus and breathed half an hour in the silence of the mind and body. It probably looked strange from a side…

Registration

We sailed to the island of Cozumel on Saturday. A lovely island with beautiful beaches, lots of restaurants and tourist atmosphere. We accommodated and went to regiter.

Registration was smooth, without incidents. You get a backpack with a chip, bulletin and some water. T-shirt comes at the finish.

Serega – well done, made a media accreditation for himself, as a journalist of Sporter, and is now allowed to run around with the camera in the water, under water, on the boat, or even on a submarine. And he will be welcomed everywhere, because we actually are shooting a  Promo video of Oceanman.

Expo was absent, as such. There was one table, on which swimming goggles, caps and buoys were sold.

Oh yes, buoys. One of the requirements of the 10 km race organizers is the presence of the buoy. This I wrote without any errors. Inflatable buoy for long distance swimmers – it’s like a backpack for the ultramarathoner. It’s a bright, inflatable, waterproof bag, which should be attached to your belt.

Firstly, it provides safety – you may have a rest on it, for example, if a cramp hits your leg.

Secondly, you may put inside gels, water, phone, documents, camera, keys, money, clothes, anything. And all these will remain dry.

And, the most important thing – visibility. Now you are seen by the organizers, the passing submarines and aircraft carriers. And will try not to crush you. Therefore, I immediately buy my buoy and go to the briefing.

The briefing was in Spanish with Spanish slides. Because of the hundreds of visitors, we were not the only one who weren’t speaking Spanish.

But the organizers did not leave us in the lurch, and periodically repeated important messages in English.

In the evening, we have arranged for ourselves a “burrito-party” on the beach, then the gatherings, ammunition check and rest.

Plans for the race, in descending order:

A – swim into the top ten and qualify for the WorldCup.

B – Swim in your category in the top three. And get a diploma :)

C – swim out of 3:30

Day Х

Waking up at 4:30 caused no problems. We woke up early because of the non-finished acclimatization. Pranayama, a light breakfast, as usually toasts and something sweet. This morning it was an expired with a dreadful taste February Nutella. But, with my ​​eyes closed, I jammed 6 microsandwiches, for the carbs are carbs even in Africa, and the taste is not important.

Backpacks on the back, and here we are with Serega already at the start.

Here, the work is boiling – final preparations: volunteers, workers, lifeguards, boats, canoes, buoys, megaphones, something is dragged, oranges are loaded in barrels, and the water in boxes.

Marking, warm-up, we attach the buoy – it’s hanging between the legs, like a second stomach, cap, googles, chip.

Serega, cheerfully climbed into the boat with journalists and organizers. He waves his hand to me – come on, don’t let me down! Sure thing, everything will be great, fear not!

We align in front of the arch.

Start

We run into the water for about 20 meters, hang and wait for the signal.

The water is warm and clear as mineral water in Moldovan café in summer. We swim over the reefs with fish, no waves, no wind – perfect conditions. Then I thought I was in paradise for swimmers.

I smiled, anticipating nice swimming hours of swimming, when the shot was fired, and we rushed to the first buoy…

We swim… I’m somewhere in the middle of the crowd, behind someone’s feet, and I am rowing in a comfortable pace. Drafting.

Drafting in swimming – is the ability to stay close to a fast swimmer in order to use the water turbulence for a more efficient spending of your own forces. Or, simply, like walking behind someone’s back in the windy weather. His clothes are ripped off, and you feel just a light breeze…  Scientists say that drafting in swimming can save up to 30% of effort

There are two types of drafting:

Behind. You get behind the leader, as close as possible, but not enough to touch the leader’s feet. There is a risk to get bumped in the head, because in my experience, when someone follows you at tail and occasionally touches your feet, I just want to stop and hit with the foot. To hit hard.

Sideways. To do this, you need to take a position on the leader’s side, so that your head is located at the level between his thigh and chest. When moving forward, the swimmer creates a V-shaped wave trace. The task of the swimmer, who wants to take the advantage of drafting is to stay in the wave trace. It is important to synchronize your movements with the swimmer in front of you, so that you don’t get “mixed up” with your hands.

So I joined up and I am swimming, periodically glancing at the watch, and noting the good pace. I think I should check the number of the guy and treat him with a tequila tonight. After all, he is dragging me almost for an hour. I am already diving in thoughts into a new project – what is the best way to start, how to attract people, what will the website be like, and so on, in short, I am not straining and just enjoy the race…

But then I understand that I am swimming somehow very much relaxed and start to think of overcoming my “locomotive.” I overtake him, look around and… I see no one around.

The whole group raced so far away forward that I only see the orange pixels. What happened? Where we swam? Here it is, the third rule of drafting – do not trust your horse, always watch, where it drags you. Mine dragged me in a totally wrong direction. :(

It’s good that I’m not a gambler and I do not go to the racetrack – otherwise I would bet all of my money on the slowest horse.

I make an angry face and start working hard and going away from my guide, turning my head vigorously in search of the main group.

And here comes the surprise – all of a sudden my hands and face flash with fire. Burning pain, a if I got thrashed with nettle – I came across this in the Philippines. I understand that I got into the jelly fish – plankton cloud – there are such tiny biters that float in unseen flocks.

They also sting anything they meet on their way. Pain, however, doesn’t hold for long, and it becomes bearable 15 minutes later…

So, I see the buoys in two hundred meters, heading towards them. Four kilometers are left behind. Speed, surprisingly, is very good, 1:40 for 1 hundred meters – this is how I swim short distances in the pool. And, I think that today is my day.

And I am slowing down a little bit, so that I don’t drain out of forces prematurely. But where is everyone? Am I in fact at the Olympics and compete with the best swimmers of the world? After all, I know that usually on the swimming competitions I am in the first 20-30% of the participants. And here – the penultimate.

Ahead is the turning point with the feeding zone. Well, I think, that’s enough feeling sorry for yourself, start working hard after the turning. I grab a bottle of water, suck it out, turn around and start accelerating. Five minutes later, I suddenly realize that I swam away from the last buoy for just about twenty meters. What’s happening?

I am hanging. Five meters below me, a beautiful reef bottom and a flock of colorful fish scratching their heads over the floundering person. Yes, I’m floundering, thrashing the water with arms and legs, without moving, as if someone broke all the laws of physics. I’m just hanging with that flock of fish in the Caribbean Sea. If the fish looked into my eyes wide open, they would have seen the horror.

This is just wrong – if you are rowing with your hands and feet, you should be moving forward, unless… Yes, it is the back flow! Now I understand why I was swimming so vigorously until now. I accelerate to the maximum- the bottom moved from the dead point, but if it goes on like this, I will swim to the finish line in the evening.

And if I stop rowing, I…

If you’re running a marathon, you may stop at any point, sit down on the grass, drink some cold Coke, even sleep, if you are very tired. And then get up and continue the race from THE SAME PLACE where you have stopped. In my case, if I lie down on my back to “have some rest”, 15 minutes later I will find myself a kilometer farther away from the finish line.

Understanding this fact, coupled with the fact that forces for fighting the flow will not last long, blocks my mind, and panic is creeping into my brain …

You will not finish today …

– she says.. And I believe her…

Another 5 minutes are gone, I swam ten meters. I start calming down and reasoning. Why am I all alone here, where is everybody? Maybe, they swam on a different trajectory? Maybe they know more than me?

And then I remember the briefing before the race, during which only two people were talking English – I and Sergei. So, the organizers were talking in Spanish, and sometimes, seeing that we understand nothing, repeated in English. As it turned out later, they talked about the flow, but our inspired, nodding faces that moment made them confident that we understand everything. But we did not understand.

This calms, but does not solve the problem. I continue building a logical chain. Either flow has areas of fast and slow water. Slow is likely to be near the shore, due to friction. I swim to the shore diagonally and… oh, the wonder, the bottom begins to accelerate. Speed, of course, is not the one with which I rowed, but I’m moving forward! Even fish have decided to leave me alone.

Calculating how fast I swim, I understand that all my plans A, B and C go to nowhere, and now it all is just about finishing. But not more than 5 hours, otherwise -disqualification.

I feel dry mouth, throat tickles from sea water, and I have an hour to swim to the next feeding point at 8 km .

Swimming close to the shore, I slowly move from a buoy to buoy. The pier is ahead, trying to go round it, and again all of a sudden – I am not moving. Damn and blast!

Again I turn the grinding mode and start very slowly, as the illegitimate son of a sloth and a turtle, move forward.

And in this sad moment the organizers’ boat swims to me, they look at me for like five minutes and then politely ask, glancing at the watch – whether I had the desire to get on the boat and sail to the finish line?

This situation is no less motivated than the injection of adrenaline into the artery. I wave no with my head and turn it off. I do not need it now. I only need the hands and feet. Ten minutes later I overcome the pier and get back to the shore, where the flow gives at least some chance. And then I realize that I forgot to ask the boaters for some water. Damn, I am seriously thirsty already. Will have to bear it.

The shoulders are not just sore, they really hurt. My acceleration did not benefit them. I try to make not powerful strokes, but frequent. I feel like an hour passed since the turning, and I swam just 1.5 km away. Where is the feeding station?

Like vultures are circling over the dying animals, a volunteer on a board with a paddle crept to me – he will accompany me as a silent shadow till the end of the race, as a reminder of the fact that everything ends, sooner or later.

Jellyfish again! Dammit, this is certainly something I am not missing now! The hands and face are burning, throat is rubbed with sandpaper, nails hammered into shoulders, and to top everything off, a surfer is circling around. He should be wearing a robe with a hood and holding a scythe in his hands instead of oars. Then the picture would be complete.

In this remarkable state I “swim” to the shore to the feeding station. I ask for water with a hoarse voice, suck off a pint, take a deep breath and continue the way. Another 2km, according to my calculations it will take an hour – an hour and a half. Nonsense.

Another surprise – the clock stuck at 8.5 km, and not going further. Half an hour it’s 8.5.

Where am I? How much more should I swim?

In professional writers have such a term – “Lounge”. This is where the hero is in a desperate situation and the screenwriter is throwing him a rescue rope – unexpected circumstances build up in his favor – rain starts in the desert, five-liter bottle of water appears in the ocean, mercy wakes up in gangsters, and they dig you out of the grave.

That can not be done in any case, it is not professional and boring. The hero must solve his f…cking problems on his own, and not wait for a miracle!

But, fortunately, the screenwriter, who writes my story, did not know about it. And, considering that I was exhausted and about to go to the bottom, he decided to throw me the Lounge.

The back flow disappeared! Completely, as if it never was there. And I, without believing my eyes and the bottom flowing away, started to row like crazy. However, after fighting the flow, “crazy rowing” looks more like epileptic seizures, but I did not give up!

So here I am, knackered, with shoulders beat up with loads, wagging from side to side, like Santa Claus at the first of January, and I notice the finish line on the horizon. But Sergey asked me to let him describe the last minutes of the race. Why not, he knows better..

Finish by Sergei

I stand with the equipment ready at the finish line. Everyone has already finished: 1,5 km, 5 km, 10 km.

There is no sight of Voloshin :(

I agreed with the medical service to meet him right. In general, all the people are standing and waiting for Dima.

No Voloshin anywhere :(

Two people are swimming far away – probably Dima, they swim closer – pink caps (5km), and at 10 – yellow ones.

No Voloshin:(

Here the boats swim and unload people, coming down the race.

No Voloshin :(

Dammit – where is Dima?

Here everything got really not funny. I notice they are already bringing the buoys and collecting the entire route. The medical service asks anxiously – where is number 50?

No Voloshin  :(

Here in the distance two figures appeared – we’re waiting with a timid hope.

Yes, Voloshin appeared :) Cheers !!!

Despite all the signals, shouts and whistles to him – he swam past the finish line. He is putting his hands into the water already in quite a crooked way, like someone at his first crawl training – it is obvious that he is tired.

He crawls onto the platform, I give him the flag, he somehow spreads it over his head and finishes! Halleluiah!

? $ # @ (*> <> <@ # $ @ – Sergei, what was that?” – politely asked Dmitry.

I was very surprised by this swim,” – concluded politely my stunned  friend …

However, if you remove all the humor out of the situation, it was obvious that it was extremely difficult for him – my respect, he swam all the way till the end. The main conclusion – it is necessary not only to prepare physically, but also to learn Spanish, so not to waste briefing again, where they talk about the currents.

Yeah … you can not throw words out of the song, I finished penultimate with sad 4 hours. But this race has taught me many things: how to eat in the long distance, why you should not draft behind any person, how to deal with currents, not pay attention to the jellyfish and be as attentive as possible at the briefing…

Afterwards

Then there was the licking of wounds – armpits burned with particular fury, as if I was carrying two sea hedgehogs there – I forgot to put the Vaseline on before the swim! Jelly fish burns are gone, but shoulders were full of misunderstanding, much like the tibia after the first marathon. But, fortunately, tequila has an anti-inflammatory analgesic effect, so life got a lot better by the evening!

In the evening, we met with the organizers of the race, shared the plans for the development of swimming in open water, which, incidentally, is actively gaining popularity in the world. They checked out our nautical mile, and we praised their event. No kidding, everything was done professionally, and I actively recommend OCEANMAN.

By the way, the guys told me, what happened to me.

It turns out that we were warned in Spanish that next to the buoys in the first half of the race there will be a favorable longshore wave current, catch it! And while everyone was rushing along it to the turning point, I was thinking about a new project, lazily rowing behind my Susanin and getting away from the buoys.

Well, back – respectively a strong back current, so stay close to the shore – there it is weaker. And it took me, damn it, half an hour to understand it….

As my dad told me multiple times –

Silly head gives no rest to the feet.

And I wondered – just how bad my silly head did not give rest the legs and arms?

Usually, on long distances, I spend 20 minutes per 1 km and make 55 strokes per minute. (Data from the Lake Balaton, Seemile, Olimpian)

So, I had to swim ten km in 200 minutes (3:20), making 11,000 strokes.

But the clock says I swam it in 4 hours and made 13,000 strokes.

Here is the answer – 2000 extra strokes I made, remaining in one place…

You’re right, Dad, your son is a dunce: )

Как избежать встречи с авианосцем, какого буя… нужно держаться, сколько языков должен знать пловец, куда прикладывать колу после заплыва и что происходит, когда начинаешь вгрёбывать?

Я вишу. Подо мной в 5 метрах красивое рифовое дно и стайка разноцветных рыбок, с недоумением рассматривающая барахтающегося человека. Да, я барахтаюсь, молочу руками и ногами, но не двигаюсь, как будто кто-то сломал все законы физики.

Я просто завис с этой стайкой рыб в Карибском море. Если бы рыбки заглянули мне в широко открытые глаза, они увидели бы ужас…

С чего все начиналось

В этом году я решил сделать себе подарок на день рождения и купил слот на Oceanman — Международный Чемпионат по плаванию на открытой воде.

Первый старт этой серии состоялся недавно, в апреле 2015 года, но проект очень быстро развивается. В 2016 году Oceanman проводит пять гонок (Паламос, Озеро Орта, Косумель, Табарка) и финал в Бенидорме.
В каждом заплыве есть три дистанции:

OCEANMAN (6–14 km)
HALF OCEANMAN (3,5–5 km)
POPULAR (1–2 km)

До сих пор в проекте участвовала Испания и Италия, но в этом году, впервые, заплыв состоится в Мексике, на острове Косумель, и именно туда я и отправлюсь, чтобы проплыть 10 км в Карибском море.

Поддерживать меня едет мой старый друг — Серега Шмыгалев. Старый и добрый. Как он себя называет “Один друг Волоушена”

Мексика

Прилетели в Канкун. Взяли авто и немного покуролесили:

День рождения я давно хотел отметить в клубе CocoBongo! Да, в том самом из кинофильма “Маска”. Кстати, сеть этих клубов принадлежит Джиму Керри. Не вдаваясь в детали (коих было большое множество, как и текилы), скажу, что шоу было фантастическим, а дняра удалась. По крайней мере, та ее часть, которую я помню.

Чичен-Ица — крупнейший из сохранившихся городов майа. Не думал, что меня может впечатлить гора камней. Действительно, сильное место, обязательно к посещению на Юкатане!

Сеноты — это затопленные пещеру, куда, говорят, кидали жертвоприношения древние жрецы майа и ацтеков. Поныряли там от души — вода прозрачная и теплая, а сталагмиты и темные ущелья наводят трепет.

Ну и как же обойти вниманием чудо света — подводный музей в Канкуне? Реально абсолютно гениальная идея опустить скульптурный комплекс под воду и возить туда туристов! Правда, организация тура компанией Aquaworld оказалась ниже среднего. Много туристов, мало времени, давай, давай. Но нам и получаса хватило, чтобы прифигеть!

По утрам я подсадил Серегу на пранаяму (дыхательная гимнастика с очищением забитого мыслями сознания), поэтому каждое утро начиналось в 6 утра с вопроса — “Дышим?”. И мы садились в позу а-ля лотос и полчаса в полной тишине ума и тела дышали. Наверное, со стороны это выглядело странно…

Регистрация

Мы приплыли на остров Косумель в субботу. Милый островок с красивейшими пляжами, кучей ресторанчиков и туристической атмосферой. Заселились и пошли региться.

Регистрация прошла ровно, без приключений. Получаешь рюкзачок с чипом, беллетристикой и водичкой. Майка — на финише.

Серега — молодец, сделал себе аккредитацию СМИ, как журналист Sporter, и теперь может бегать с камерой хоть по воде, хоть под водой, хоть на лодке, хоть на подлодке. И везде ему будут рады — ведь мы фактически снимаем проморолик Oceanman.

Экспо, как такого, не было. Был один столик, на котором продавались очки для плавания, шапочки и буи.

Ах, да буи. Одно из требований организаторов на 10км — наличие буя. Это я без ошибок написал. Надувной буй для пловцов на длинные дистанции — это как рюкзак для сверхмарафонца. Такой яркий, надувной, непромокаемый мешок, который привязывается к поясу.

Во-первых, он обеспечивает безопасность — на нем можно отдохнуть, если, например, судорогой свело ногу.
Во-вторых, внутрь складывают гели, воду, телефон, документы, камеру, ключи, деньги, одежду, все, что угодно. И все это останется сухим.
Ну у самое главное — это видимость. Теперь вас видят организаторы, проплывающие мимо подводные лодки и авианосцы. И постараются не задавить. Поэтому тут же покупаю себе буй, и отправляемся на брифинг.

Брифинг был на испанском с испанскими слайдами. Потому что из сотни пришедших, испанский не знали только мы.

Но организаторы не бросили нас в беде и периодически повторяли важные месседжи на инглише.

Вечером мы устроили себе “бурито-пати” на пляже, потом сборы, проверка амуниции и отдых.

Планы на гонку в порядке убывания:
A — Приплыть в первой десятке и отобраться на чемпионат мира.
B — Приплыть в своей категории в тройке. И получить диплом :)
С — Выплыть из 3:30

День игз

Подьем в 4:30 не вызвал никаких проблем. Из-за не закончившейся акклиматизации мы проснулись раньше. Пранаяма, легкий завтрак, как обычно тосты с сладеньким. Сегодня утром это была жуткого вкуса, просроченная, февральская нутелла. Но, зажмурившись, я зажевал 6 микросендвичей, ибо угли, они и в африке угли, а вкус сейчас не важен.

Рюкзаки на спину, и вот мы с Серегой уже на старте.
Здесь во всю кипит работа — последние приготовления: волонтеры, рабочие, спасатели, лодки, каноэ, буи, мегафоны, что-то перетаскивают, грузят апельсины бочками, а воду — ящиками.

Маркировка, разминка, цепляем буёк — висит между ног, как второй желудок, шапочка, очки, чип.

Серега, счастливый забрался на лодочку с журналистами и организаторами. Машет мне рукой — типа давай, не подведи! Канеш, все будет супер, не боись!
Строимся перед акрой.

Старт

Забегаем в воду метров на 20, висим и ждем сигнала.

Вода теплая и прозрачная, как минералка в молдавских кафе летом. Плывем над рифами с рыбками, волн нет, ветра нет — идеальные условия. Тогда мне казалось я попал в рай пловцов.

Я улыбался, предвкушая приятные часы плавания, когда прозвучал выстрел, и мы устремились к первому буйку…
Плывем… я где-то в середине толпы пристроился за чьими-то ногами и гребу в комфортном темпе. Драфтю.

Драфтинг в плавании — это умение держаться недалеко от быстрого пловца с целью использования завихрения воды для более эффективного расходования собственных сил. Или, по-простому, идти за чьей-то спиной в ветреную погоду. На нем рвет одежду, а ты чувствуешь лишь легкий бриз… Ученые говорят, что драфтинг в плавании позволяет сэкономить до 30% усилий.

Существует два вида драфтинга:

Сзади. Пристраиваешься сзади, как можно ближе, но не настолько, чтобы касаться ног лидера. Есть риск получить по голове, потому как по своему опыту, когда кто-то висит на хвосте и периодически трогает за ногу, хочется приостановиться и резко ударить ногой. Больно ударить.

Сбоку. Для этого нужно занять такое положение сбоку по отношению к лидеру, чтобы голова находилась на уровне между его бедром и грудью. Двигаясь вперед, пловец создает V-образный волновой след. Задача пловца, желающего воспользоваться преимуществами драфтинга — держаться внутри волнового следа. Здесь важно синхронизировать свои движения с плывущим впереди пловцом, чтобы «не запутываться» руками.

Так вот я пристроился и плыву себе, периодически посматривая на часы и отмечая неплохой темп. Думаю, надо посмотреть номер чувака и текилой угостить вечером — ведь он тащит меня уже почти час. Мыслями я в новом проекте — как лучше стартануть, как зацепить людей, каким будет сайт и тд, короче, не напрягаюсь и получаю удовольствие от гонки…

Но тут я понимаю, что плыву как-то очень уж расслабленно и начинаю подумывать обогнать свой “локомотив”. Обгоняю, оглядываюсь по сторонам и… никого не вижу.

Вся группа унеслась вперед так далеко, что видны только оранжевые пиксели. Что случилось? Куда мы заплыли? Вот оно, третье правило драфтинга — не доверяй своему коню, всегда смотри, куда он тебя тащит. Мой затащил меня совсем не туда :(
Хорошо, что я не азартный игрок и не хожу на ипподром — иначе все деньги я бы поставил на самого медленного коня.
Делаю злое лицо и начинаю вкалывать и отрываться от своего проводника, усиленно вращая головой в поисках основной группы.

А тут еще сюрприз — вдруг руки и лицо вспыхивают огнем. Жгучая боль, как будто крапивой отлупили— я сталкивался с этим на Филипинах. Понимаю, что попал в медузное-плактонное облако — есть такие микроскопические кусачки, которые плавают невидимыми косяками.

Ну и жалят все, что встретится на их пути. Боль, правда, держится недолго, и через 15 минут уже становится терпимо…

Так, вижу буи в двухстах метрах, направляюсь к ним. Позади 4 км. Скорость, на удивление, очень приличная 1:40 на сто метров — я так плаваю короткие отрезки в бассейне. Ну, думаю, сегодня мой день.

И немного сбавляю темп, чтобы не убиться раньше времени. Но куда же делись все? Неужели я попал на Олимпийские игры, и соревнуюсь с лучшими пловцами мира? Ведь я знаю, что обычно на плавательных соревнования я вхожу в первые 20–30% участников. А тут — предпоследний.

Впереди разворот с пунктом питания. Ну, думаю, хватит себя жалеть, начнем после поворота вкалывать. Хватаю бутылку воды, высасываю, разворачиваюсь и начинаю ускоряться. Но через 5 минут я неожиданно понимаю, что отплыл от последнего буйка всего лишь метров на двадцать. Что происходит?

Я вишу. Подо мной в 5 метрах — красивое рифовое дно и стайка разноцветных рыбок, с недоумением рассматривающая барахтающегося человека. Да, я барахтаюсь, молочу руками и ногами, но не двигаюсь, как будто кто-то сломал все законы физики. Я просто завис с этой стайкой рыб в Карибском море. Если бы рыбки заглянули мне в широко открытые глаза, они увидели бы ужас.

Так не бывает — если ты гребешь руками и ногами, то должен продвигаться вперед, только если… Да, это встречное течение! Теперь понимаю, почему я так резво плыл до сих пор. Ускоряюсь на максимум — дно двинулось с мертвой точки, но если так пойдет и дальше, я приплыву к вечеру.

А если перестану грести, то…

Если ты бежишь марафон, то всегда можешь остановиться, сесть на травку, попить колы холодной, даже поспать, если совсем устал. А потом встать и продолжить гонку с ТОГО ЖЕ МЕСТА, где остановился. В моем случае, если я лягу на спину “отдохнуть”, то через 15 минут окажусь на километр дальше от финиша.

Понимание этого факта в купе с тем, что бороться с течением сил надолго не хватит, блокирует разум, и паника вползает в мой мозг…

Ты не финишируешь сегодня…

— говорит она.. И я ей верю…

Проходит еще 5 минут, я проплыл метров десять. Начинаю успокаиваться и рассуждать. Почему я один, где все? Может они плыли по другой траектории? Может они знали больше чем я?
И тут я вспоминаю брифинг перед заплывом, на котором по-английски говорили только двое — я и Сережа. Поэтому организаторы говорили на испанском, и иногда, видя, что мы тупим, повторяли на английском. Как потом оказалось, про течение они рассказывали, но наши одухотворенные, кивающие лица в том момент внушали им уверенность, что мы все понимаем. Но мы не поняли.

Это успокаивает, но не решает проблемы. Продолжаю строить логическую цепочку. В любом течении есть области быстрой и медленной воды, и медленная, скорее всего, будет у берега, из-за трения. Плыву к берегу по диагонали и … о, чудо, дно начинает ускоряться. Скорость, конечно, не та, с которой я гребу, но я двигаюсь вперед! Даже рыбки решили оставить меня в покое.

Прикидывая с какой скоростью я плыву, понимаю что все мои планы A, B и C идут по бороде, и сейчас речь идет просто о финише. Но не более 5 часов, иначе — дисквалификация.
Чувствую сушняк, горло першит от морской воды, а до пункта питания на 8 км еще час плыть.
Прижимаясь к берегу, медленно плыву от буйка к буйку. Впереди пирс, пытаясь обогнуть его и вдруг опять — я стою на месте. Тысяча чертей!

Опять включаю молотилку и начинаю очень медленно, как внебрачный сын ленивца и черепахи, двигаться вперед.
И в этот безрадостный момент ко мне подплывает лодка организаторов, они смотрят на меня минут пять и потом вежливо интересуются, поглядывая на часы — нет ли у меня желания забраться на лодку и поплыть к финишу?

Такая ситуация мотивирует не меньше укола адреналина в артерию. Я машу им головой и выключаю ее. Теперь она мне не нужна. Мне нужны только руки и ноги. Через 10 минут я огибаю пирс и возвращаюсь к берегу, где течение дает хоть какой-то шанс. И тогда понимаю, что забыл попросить воды у лодочников. Блин, а пить хочется уже не по-детцки. Терпим.

Плечи уже не просто ноют, они болят. Мои ускорения не пошли им на пользу. Стараюсь делать гребки не мощные, но зато частые. По ощущениям, с момента разворота прошел час, а я проплыл всего 1.5 км. Где же пункт питания?

Как над умирающими животными кружат стервятники, так и ко мне подобрался волонтер на доске с веслом — он будет сопровождать меня безмолвной тенью до конца гонки, как напоминание о том, что все рано или поздно заканчивается.

Опять медузы! Дьявол, только этого не хватало сейчас! Руки и лицо горят, горло натерто наждачкой, в плечи забили по гвоздю, и еще вокруг кружит серфер. Вот бы надеть ему балахон с капюшоном, а в руки дать косу вместо весла. Тогда картина была бы полной.

В таком замечательном состоянии “доплываю” до станции питания. Хриплым голосом требую воды, высасываю пол-литры, глубоко вдыхаю и продолжаю путь. Еще 2 км, по моим подсчетам это займет час — полтора. Ерунда.

Еще один сюрприз — часы зависли на 8.5 км и дальше ни-ни. Уже полчаса 8.5.
Где я? Сколько еще плыть?

У профессиональных сценаристов есть такой термин — “лонжа”. Это когда герой находится в безвыходном положении и сценарист кидает ему спасательную веревку — неожиданно обстоятельства складываются в его пользу — в пустыне начинает идти дождь, в океане появляется пятилитровый бутыль с водой, а у гангстеров просыпается жалость, и они выкапывают вас из могилы.

Этого ни в коем случае делать нельзя, это не профессионально и скучно. Герой, сцука, должен сам решить свои проблемы, а не ждать чуда!

Но, к счастью, сценарист, который пишет мою историю, об этом не знал. И, сочтя, что я уже измучен и вот-вот пойду на дно, он решил кинуть мне лонжу.

Встречное течение пропало! Полностью, как и не бывало. И я, не веря своим глазам и пролетающему внизу дну, начинаю вгребывать. Правда, после борьбы с течение “вгребывание” больше похоже эпилептические судороги, но я не сдавался!

И вот измочаленный, с ахеревшими от нагрузки плечами, виляя из стороны в сторону, как Дед Мороз первого января, замечаю на горизонте финиш. А вот последние минуты гонки попросил описать Сергей. Почему бы и нет, ему виднее..

Финиш от Сережи

Стою с техникой наготове уже на финише. Финишировали уже все: 1,5км, 5км, 10 км.
Волошина нет :(

Договорился с медслужбой, чтобы встретили как надо. В общем, весь народ стоит и ждет Диму.
Волошина нет :(

Вот плывут вдалеке двое — наверное Дима, подплывают — розовые шапочки (5км), а на десятке — желтые.
Волошина нет :(

Тут подплывают лодки и выгружают сошедших с трассы.
Волошина нет :(
ЁЛКИ — где Дима?

Тут совсем невесело стало. Смотрю, уже буйки привозят и всю трассу собирают. Медслужба с волнением говорит — где номер 50?!
Волошина нет :(

Тут вдалеке таки появилось два силуэта — с робкой надеждой стали ждать.
Да, Волошин появился :) Ура!!!

Несмотря на все сигналы ему, крики и свистки — проплыл мимо финиша. Ручки кладет в воду уже кривенько, как человек на первом занятии кролем — видно, что устал.

Заползает на помост, я вручаю ему флаг, кое-как расправляет его над головой и финиширует! Алилуя!

“#@$(*:><?><@#$@ — Сережа, что это было?” — вежливо поинтересовался Дмитрий.
“Я очень удивился от этого заплыва”, — вежливо резюмировал мой офигевший товарищ…

Но, если убрать весь юмор ситуации, было видно, что ему было крайне тяжело — респект, доплыл. Главный вывод — надо не только готовиться физически, но и учить испанский, чтобы опять не про…ть брифинг, где говорили про течения.

Да уж… из песни слов не выкинешь, я финишировал предпоследним с грустными 4 часами. Но эта гонка научила меня многому: как питаться на длинной дистанции, почему не стоит драфтить за кем попало, как бороться с течениями, не обращать внимания на медуз и быть максимально внимательным на брифинге…

Потом

Потом было зализывание ран — подмышки горели с особенной яростью, как будто я носил там двух морских ежей — забыл завазелиниться пред заплывом! Медузные ожоги прошли, а вот плечи находились в полном недоразумении, примерно как голени после первого марафона. Но, к счастью, текила обладает противовоспалительно-обезбаливающим эффектом, поэтому к вечеру жизнь наладилась!

Вечером мы встретились с организаторами гонки, поделились планами развития плавания на открытой воде, которое, кстати, очень активно набирает популярность в мире. Они заценили нашу морскую милю, а мы похвалили их ивент. Без дураков, все было сделано профессионально, и я активно рекомендую OCEANMAN.

Кстати, ребята рассказали, что же все-таки со мной произошло.
Оказывается, нас предупреждали на испанском языке, что рядом с буями в первой половине дистанции будет попутное, вдольбереговое волновое течение, ловите его! И пока все неслись по нему к повороту, я думал про новый проект, лениво гребя за моим Сусаниным и удаляясь от буев.
Ну а обратно — соответсвенно сильное встречное, поэтому держитесь близко к берегу — там оно слабее. А мне, блин, понадобилось полчаса, чтобы додуматься до этого….

Как не раз говорил мне говорил мой папа —

Дурная голова ногам покоя не дает.

И мне стало интересно — а насколько моя дурная голова не дала покоя ногам и рукам?
Обычно на длинных дистанциях я трачу 20 мин на 1 км и делаю 55 гребков в минуту. (Данные с балатона, симайла, олимпийки)
Значит, я должен был проплыть десятку за 200 мин (3:20), сделав 11000 гребков.
Но часы говорят, что я проплыл за 4 часа и сделал 13000 гребков.
Вот и ответ — 2000 лишних гребков я сделал, бултыхаясь на месте…
Ты прав, батя, твой сын — балбес :)